We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient, central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I don't like big, chain hotels but it's hard to avoid them in cities. Hotel Victoria is a great find.
It seems to have been stylishly refurbished and the rooms are a reasonable size for a city centre hotel and well appointed.
We had a deluxe king room for a reasonable (city) price of around $160. Good bathroom, decent TV, fridge, desk, free wifi, aircon and heating...
Staff were very helpful and there is an attached coffee shop for breakfast - or one over the road.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Yonge Street so it can be a bit noisy. A room at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    325
    115
    36
    23
See reviews for
80
325
65
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We travelled to Toronto in August and stayed in this hotel for 5 days. It was in a great location and for the budget was a really good hotel. The hotel is 2 minutes from the subway so very convenient. We took the 192 bus from the airport (which is much cheaper than the official airport bus) to Kipling station and then the subway into central Toronto. The hotel is an easy walk away from the key sites in Toronto (CN Tower, ferry to the islands etc). We would also recommend a visit to the Steam Whistle Brewery. There tour was very informative and very reasonably priced and there were plenty of free samples!!
The hotel room was on the small side, but this did not bother us. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It had a subscription to Netflix so you could watch films on demand for free.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would definately return if we are ever in Toronto again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and quiet. Good location in the middle "of it all". Friendly staff and lots of amenities within reach. Took the Chariots of Fire Niagra tour while I stayed here.

Rate was half of 1 king west around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a boutique hotel. Beautiful heritage building. Our room (701) was next to elevator; no problem with that. Fantastic king size bed. Clean room/bathroom. Had to ask for a bathtub drain plug. Hair dryer, house coat and clothes iron supplied, nice.

The major problem is the street noise. Hotel is located on Yonge street in Toronto and that means 24/7 street noise. Don't get a street view room if you want to sleep.

Another issue: we had a ton of luggage and were lucky to get a luggage cart. There is only one available for the entire hotel! We had to load it up ourselves, push it to the elevator and take it up to our room. No busboy available. Staff did help in getting a good rate for limo.

If you are driving, you might want to consider another hotel. There is no parking lot/garage. You have to unload your car while stopped in front of the hotel, on a busy street. There is a fire hydrant almost right in front of the entrance. Cheap parking lot is a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Away from front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am very surprised with all the good reviews on this hotel!!! For me, This hotel is a 3 star hotel at the very most however lack of customer service makes it a two star hotel. The rooms are very small(full size beds are advertised at queen beds) but they're clean clean. No amenities whatsoever. The front desk staff are not courteous or helpful at all (particularly the night shift staff). Each room gets only one extra blanket so if it's two of you and both have a cold and in need of two extra blankets, tough luck! This hotel has nothing to offer. They're many other hotels around that can offer much better service and quality with the same price. Check out the hotel next door (one king west), same price range but much better. Nice lobby and reception area, a bar, parking and nicer attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms by the main streets are bigger but noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night during a week's stay in Toronto. I stayed in a small (very small) room on the fourth floor, with a tiny window looking out onto a wall. The room was fine but, given the price and the fact Hotel Victoria is marketed as a 'boutique' establishment, I was hoping for more. Some of the room finishes looked a little tired and cheap and there was nothing really luxurious about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had a long leisurely brunch with family at The Vistoria Hotel Over Easy restaurant! Good food, large sizes, fresh fruit, fast service and clean bathrooms! The waiter was prompt and polite, refreshed hot coffee several times and smiled often!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has been completely renovated! Our brand new guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The new lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.