We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel was as described and we had a lovely perfect sized room. Bed was comfy, nice renovated rooms, front desk was helpful and was in a nice and convenient location. We didn’t have any problems with noise, might have been because we were on the top floor.

Only downsides were the slow lift (but that didn’t bother us) and the fact that when we arrived the hotel had tried to charge our credit card a day in advance and as it had failed they were going to give up our rooms. Our booking confirmation was not clear that this was the process and if I’d have known in advance I would have ensured a new credit card would had been provided (we booked 9 months in advance so no longer used the credit card we initially booked on). They did try to email me but it was too late as we were already travelling. Lucky they still had rooms and didn’t turn out to be a problem. We later found out on our travels that this is quite common in Canada however as this was our first hotel in Canada and being from the UK we had never come across this before.

We would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi LeedsRachel

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel Victoria. We really appreciate the time you took to write an review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our renovated rooms were to your liking. I will pass along your comments to our Front Desk team, they love it when guests give them positive feedback. I am sorry you found the lift slow, we are in the process of having it looked at. Regarding your credit card, we authorize day of arrival to speed up the check in process. On occasion, international cards do not authorize to prevent fraud. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    307
    108
    34
    22
See reviews for
75
315
61
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here with our wedding party and several other family members - the hotel staff were friendly, accommodating and professional. The manager Peter was incredibly helpful and such a pleasure to work with.. The hotel is ideally placed in the downtown core and even though there's no parking, there are many lots located within a 5-10 walk.

The rooms are updated, comfortable and clean.

For this price point, you cannot beat the Hotel Victoria!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi TOtravellers51

Thank you for including us in such a special occasion. It is always nice to read positive comments about our team, I shall especially relay your comments to Peter, I am sure he will appreciate them,. Our location is certainly ideal for all areas of the city. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We really appreciate you providing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at The Hotel Victoria for a family wedding.
It has such a wonderful blend of old world charm and modern elegance. Each room has been beautifully renovated, and seemingly with individual themes.
Our room in particular was spacious with beautiful large windows over looking the city below. We had a surprisingly large closet too!
The front desk and housekeeping staff were always friendly, polite and helpful.
Traveling to Toronto, this hotel is worth a stay!

Room Tip: close to everything, ask for a room on Yonge to get a nice view of the bustling City below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Scomo123,
We thank you for choosing the Hotel Victoria for your special occasion. The old world charm is still appreciated mixed in with modern elegance. I am happy yo pass on your remarks regarding our Housekeeping and Front Office Teams. Thank you for taking the time offer a review of Hotel Victoria, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent one night here, and it was just aces. Close to the hockey hall of fame and lots of other downtown stuff.

One downside; a single elevator for a hotel this size does not quite do it. But it's a pretty cool old converted warehouse, and I guess maybe that's just the price you pay.

But good value, clean and well-maintained, and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Mattman26

Glad you found us to be aces....The Hockey Hall of Fame is a great attraction and it's location to us is fantastic. We are not an old converted warehouse, we were actually built as a hotel - in 1909. We are looking at improving the elevator. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, 10 minutes to Union station, Dundas square and 15 to the CN tower. The hotel itself is very clean and has been renovated recently. They were good enough to keep our bags for us for a few nights while we stayed in another area of Canada so we didn't have to take everything with us. The only reasons I have deducted points is the noise that comes from what I am assuming was the air conditioning vents and we didnt even have ours on. We overlooked 3 brick walls and this we initially appreciated to cut out road noise but I think this just allowed the sound to echo more. I've read through other reviews on here and can't believe only one other person has mentioned it. Also we were next to a service room which occasionally kicked in and made a loud noise as late as 12:30am and as early as 5am. I had to buy ear plugs to be able to sleep. We asked to be moved but only got moved to another room in the brick walls with the noise of the vents. I have slept in the centre of new York and London and never had a problem sleeping before even with the air conditioning running so this should tell you something. The other thing I wasn't keen on was the toilet door, you can see through it! Not clearly but everything someone uses the toilet you can see! Unsure if I would stay again.....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi BR84Kotor

I am happy that you found our location to be great. I was saddened to read that the AC unit prevented you from sleeping. I am sorry that you were not keen on the design if the bathroom door, we get a great deal of compliments in them. I thank you for offering a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our family of four (with 2 kids, ages 10 and 13) stayed here for 2 nights in July. The hotel is in a superb location downtown, within walking distance of many places including the CN Tower and many good restaurants. The metro is a block and a half away. Our room was in the back corner of the hotel--very spacious, with comfortable beds, and very quiet for a good night's sleep. Because we were downtown among high rises, our view was of the wall of another building across a narrow alley--not a big deal at all, but just so you know what to expect. The front desk staff were generally very courteous and helpful. There is a parking garage just a few blocks away, although the parking was a bit more than the $14/day stated on the hotel's website--we paid $37 for 1 day 22 hours. Overall, this was a great place to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi windingpathtravel

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It is so true, our location is great for all that you want to seen and do while visiting Toronto. A spacious room with comfortable beds are essential, especially when traveling with children. Good to hear that the you found the Front Desk very courteous and helpful. I am surprised that you were charged $37 for parking, the dedicated lot that we send our guests to and the one that is mentioned on our website do only charge $14 per 24hr. Happy that overall you found us a great place to stay while here in Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is in a brilliant location in Toronto - we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to see the sites and there are lots of nice restaurants etc nearby. The room was clean and the staff were friendly.
However, our room was small and there was limited floor space on which to store our suitcases (especially as our visit was part of a two week holiday so we had quite a lot of stuff). The air conditioning unit was also very loud which meant that you couldn't really have it on at night despite very hot temperatures.
Overall, the location and convenience of the hotel outweighed the negative points and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Sophie J

Glad you thought our location was brilliant, I agree! Our staff are very friendly and our housekeeping team take great pride in keeping the rooms clean. I am sorry to hear that your room was too small for you, we would have been more than happy to offer you a larger - upgraded room. Had we been aware the AC was an issue we could have corrected that for you as well. I am glad that your overall experience was positive, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has been completely renovated! Our brand new guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The new lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.