We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A people people hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Toronto Yorkville to your Saves list
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A people people hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel in Yorkville, Toronto
Superb staff in every Department all of whom were really interested in us and ensuring that we had a pleasant stay
Good food in restaurant and in the bar
Sri Lankan Chef produced a superb degustation menu for New Years Eve
People willing to make my wife a cup of tea at 3 am when she could not sleep!!! Fantastic people people hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    283
    89
    26
    13
See reviews for
151
287
83
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed only for a night in November. The place was very quaint and was throughly impressed by the state of loveliness of both the lobby and the elevator area. The location was very convenient for travelers who only commuted as it was very close to two subway stations, not to mention it was right in front of the ROM which makes it even more convenient for those who have a CityPass with them.

Our room had a very good view of the ROM and a brownstone building (not quite sure what the name of the building was) that was situated in front of the hotel across the road. The couches were cozy and comfortable and furnishings with in the room was of a high standard. It wasn't as modern or first class as the InterContinental at the city centre but the hominess and the patterned sofas made it somehow unique.

The bathroom was spotless and clean. They had provided extra toiletries compared to the other IC in Toronto. They also had a Keurig and free coffee capsules which was nice. In addition, we were given complementary bottled water which we didn't get when we stayed at the other IC. The bed was nice and comfy. There was no complementary breakfasts included.

My rating is only 4 because I didn't get to try the other facilities, nevertheless this is one of the best hotels to go to in Toronto. I will come back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although we booked 4 months in advance and paid for 3 guests upon arrival the only room they had was a double with a roll away bed with the promise out room would be ready in the morning yet by 3pm the next day we were still waiting!!! We were promised a complimentary breakfast which again they forgot to take off the bill!!

The bar / lounge didn't open til 4pm so there was no where to relax before dinner or if you didn't want to stay in the room.

If it's simply location then this hotel delivers other than that I was not overly impressed at all
The

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Chris B,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your most recent stay with us.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had experienced. There is nothing more displeasing than reading our guests did not fully enjoy their stay. I would love to personally assist you in your future booking with us so that you experience a stay nothing short of perfect. Please email us directly at toronto@ihg.com and include your name as well as the date of past stay so that we can log the appropriate reservation details on your guest profile.

I look very forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here before and keep coming back when it is close to meetings or events I am attending in Toronto. One block from the St. George Subway station and right on Bloor Street West near the old Varsity Stadium grounds, this is a clean and classy hotel with a nice little gym and 20m lap pool which I force myself to use. WIFI is excellent and the rooms are spacious with nice sized beds and well appointed bathrooms.

Both the Proof Vodka bar and main restaurant serve good f&b and you can walk within minutes to the ROM, hi-end shopping and a bevy of Yorkville boutiques and restaurants for all tastes. This is one of the hotels that houses the stars during TIFF so they know how to make you feel like a star -- and of course, you are. :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Smoothly run, quiet and well suited to those who wish to be away from 'the action'. Our room was very comfortably furnished with good beds and pillows, with mohair throws. Good blackout drapes, lots of space and a good bathroom. There is a sense of relaxed calm even in Proof (the bar) on a Sat. night. Not the kind of place to have rowdy drinkers. Breakfast was included with our rate and it was nicely prepared. Valet parking was efficient. Didn't use the gym or pool.
The location is first rate - within walking distance to many Toronto features. We attended a jazz concert at Koener's Hall directly across the street and we enjoyed the convenience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here right before Toronto film festival. Everything was OK. Some of the staffs were not kownledgeble about what they doing. I bought some kinds of coupons when I book the hotel but one of the staff said we didn't have it for you, but at the end they credited me back the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Pasakorn R,

Thank you for your review. It is good to know that after some initial issues you experienced with the coupons, you were able to get a refund. However, i apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the staff service. I have taken note of your valuable comments as this will allow us to improve on our efforts. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I wanted a placed that was very close to University of Toronto and picked here...charming classy look to the hotel,,,very good hotel to stay at...room was a nice size, bathrooms a good size with separate and tub, bed was very comfortable and pillows were great.

I like to work out while travelling and the work out area was very goof...treadmills, ellipticals, free weight, machines, etc.... very good workout area

Al in all, a Keeper!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Address: 220 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.