We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Toronto Yorkville to your Saves list
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Arlington VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful concierge and front desk staff. The room was very comfortable with good wifi service (they charge for the wifi, which does seem silly in this day and age and at those hotel prices, but it was complimentary as part of the conference meeting arrangements). Good restaurants in walking distance (although the Museum Tavern next door is really only mediocre for food, but they were very nice about not charging a colleague for her meal).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear gasngoArlingtonVA,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and an even greater pleasure to read your compliments to the concierge and front desk staff!

We are in fact, in the midst of introducing complimentary internet service to our Ambassador, Platinum and Gold Priority Club members, which should be implemented in July of this year.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Simon A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    261
    86
    26
    13
See reviews for
136
263
77
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Being from Scandinavia it feels strange that breakfast is not included in the price. Especially since the price is about the same or higher than we're used to at home. Other than that I found the room excellent, the gym and pool area was very convenient. The opening hours of these facilities made it possible to fit in some exercise time in a very busy conference schedule.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Kropell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

Upon booking your next stay with us, simply inquire about our breakfast inclusive rates; we do offer great rates and packages that include breakfast in the room rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I originally stayed here 9 years ago and have to say this stay was as good as I remembered it. We were here for a total of 4 days in two stays - one night and three nights. For the longer stay we were given a room on the 8th (top) floor with views towards downtown and the CN Tower. The rooms were both spacious with bathrooms that had a bath and separate shower. Check in was OK if a little slow on the first stay and check out was fine. The location of the hotel just 5 minutes from the subway is ideal and two of the main streets to downtown - Yonge & Bay - are very close if you feel more energetic. The pool on the top floor was fine for my needs - not a great swimmer - and as long as there are only a couple of people in it adequate for those who want to swim lengths. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from a rather expensive snack in the bar one night - drinks were also expensive as is usual for this class of hotel. Internet is also expensive at $11 for 24 hours but IHG are making this free across their range of hotels from July - about time in my view. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and I would certainly go back again if in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear andym1954,

Welcome back after 9 years!

Great to read your stay was as enjoyable this year as the last time you visited the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville! We take great pride in our customer service, our staff and our hotel amenities and it is great to know our customers note our efforts in keeping the customer satisfaction high.

We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully sooner rather than later!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent location near the subway, high-end shopping and some superb restaurants/cafes. The rooms are well appointed with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. We were charged on our visa for items from the mini bar that we did not use but in the end the hotel refunded it after some debate. The pool is a small lap pool that only accommodates 2 swimmers. Overall a good value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Wherenext_10,

Thank you for your lovely review and compliments! I am very glad you enjoyed the location of the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville and our hotel services and amenities.

Also, great to see you had a chance to try out our lovely swimming pool!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay here on occasion. The rooms facing street are noisy. They have some odd fascination with using chemical fragrance in abundance-everywhere. It's overkill and frankly in this day and age where people are becoming more aware of toxic chemicals in their environment, chemical sensitivities, why bother? If you must spray everywhere with scent at least make it nontoxic natural. Parking is atrocious and for every in and out you have to repay the crazy fee. Front desk says its not their parking lot and they only have an agreement for a number of spaces at a "reduced" rate. I say time to negotiate again or suck up the parking cost for your guests in your pricey rates. I'm sure for 250-300 a night they could include parking if needed, don't think it would bankrupt the hotel. When you check in and they ask yOu if you if they can do anything else for you, mention this if applicable, maybe if everyone asks for the complimentary parking they might actually look into it. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SoleilVert,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

I was dissapointed to learn you did not enjoy the scent in our lobby. While you are absolutely right in stating that we do use an air-freshener method; I can assure you that we do so in a most non-toxic and environmentally friendly way. In fact, most of our guests enjoy and appreciate the welcoming scent in the lobby.

In regards to the parking garage adjecent to our hotel; it is in fact a public parking garage and does not belong to the hotel. We do charge a daily fee for our valet service that is comparable to other hotels in our neighbourhood and across the city.

Thank you once again for sumbitting your comments. They are absolutely crucial in addressing our shortcomings and maintaining our strengths. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville and show you an impeccable stay!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the InterCon Yorkville with a friend for three nights during Grey Cup 2012. We had been looking for something close to Rogers Centre, but with the Grey Cup being on rooms were limited.
Arrived into Toronto late Friday morning and went straight to the hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in to our room early. Room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge and very clean. We had a nice view of the courtyard from a lower level floor. We had a few drinks in the lounge and the atmosphere was nice.
While this hotel is a little ways from downtown it is literally one block from the subway which was very handy and got us everywhere we needed to go, including back to the airport. We also managed to find a couple nice restaurants nearby.
My only complaint was the $30 we paid for a roll away bed. We had a friend decide to take the train down from Ottawa on Saturday and stayed with us Saturday/Sunday night. While I have no problem paying $30 for a roll away bed, what we got was not worth $30. It was fairly old and beaten up. Since it was last minute and with this being a higher end hotel, I would imagine they do not use the roll away beds very often so it didn't reduce my overall impression on the hotel. The other aspects of the stay more than made up for this.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will consider it on future trips to downtown Toronto

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for work for three nights. Nice decor, details and touches that make it a 4+ star. Room service food insanely pricey but typical. Apples and bottled at the front desk were a nice touch, especially handy as a before bed nightcap after a late night out ;)

Rooms very spacious and nice (I think I had a deluxe King). Large television, ipod dock station, all the amenities. Bathroom was nice but bathtub was very old and not really worth soaking in (something I look forward to after a day of work). Bed was uncomfortable - this was the biggest downfall of all! If you love a comfy bed, you will be disappointed. My other coworkers also complained about this, so I know it wasn't just me! Otherwise it would have been a near perfect stay.

For the price, probably not worth it. It might be a different story if I were footing the bill.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe king near the front of the building facing the ROM. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Address: 220 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville is in the exclusive Yorkville neighborhood known as the heart and soul of the city. Fashionable restaurants, trendy shops and premier galleries abound, as do cultural icons such as the Royal Ontario Museum, the Gardener Museum and the Bata Shoe Museum. . The property provides 24-hour room service. In addition to an indoor pool, InterContinental Toronto Yorkville provides a sauna, a steam room, and a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.