We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have You Heard of VoulezVousDiner?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Ontario

Lake Ontario
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Sailing, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the mighty Great Lakes that offers outstanding tourism and recreation opportunities for every season.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Have You Heard of VoulezVousDiner?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As a fellow traveler, having been to over 20 countries in the passed 2 years, it has always been important for me to figure out how to get the most realistic cultural experience I can in each country.

I thought I could share with all of you my experience with VoulezVousDiner!

It's similar to Air B&B if you have heard of it, but rather than renting a room in someones house, you are renting a seat at their dinner table. In Canada, where ever you are, you can search local cuisine and book yourself a seat at someones table to enjoy some true Canadian cuisine.

All the meals/menus are provided for you on the webpage and other traveling guests contact information as well.

I have made everlasting friendships through VoulezVousDiner and thought it was a nice way to help other travelers get the most unique experience as possible.

On the contrary, if you live in Canada and want to host a diner for travelers, make some extra cash and meet some new friends, you can also do that as well!

Check it out at: http://www.voulezvousdiner.com/

I hope you have an amazing experience like I have :)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    76
    24
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A lake of many faces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

On a clear day, you can feel like you're on the Pacific, and on a stormy day, you can feel like you're on the North Sea. Lake Ontario is always changing with the seasons and its many locations along its shore are just as diverse. Picturesque Niagara on the Lake is so beautiful that it was used in a movie to represent a New England town. The Toronto waterfront is comparable to most ocean front cities. Prince Edward County is very unique with its winding shoreline; and Kingston allows you to go back in time to the days of sailing ships. If you walk along the shores, you are bound to find some natural surprises. Also, the lake's unusual shape (it is very deep for its width) prevents it from freezing over completely, which is the reason why it has two great wine regions. So visit the lake rain or shine, summer or winter, anywhere along its shores and enjoy the changes in scenery.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beach life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is the place to go when the sun is hot, bring your swimwear and enjoy the water! Also a nice area for bbq and sports!!! This is a must when in Toronto

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
“You just go to enjoy the sights and sounds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lake Ontario is massive. You inevitably get caught up in the scenery, where ever you are. Whether in Toronto, you get to enjoy the superb skyline of Canada's largest city, or through the rolling vineyards in the Niagara region, or enjoying the 1,000 Islands up through Kingston up tp Cormwall, Lake Ontario gives people to enjoy the outdoors and what Ontario has to offer. The cooling effect of Lake means that on breezy days, you may have to bundle up a bit where you normally would not if you were off the Lake. There are many beaches on Lake Ontario, so just check out the municipality you are in for what beaches are available in your neck of the woods. It's impossible not to enjoy Lake Ontario, where ever in Ontario (or New York) you are!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lake Ontario”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was very exciting for me to finally see Lake Ontario! To be honest, it was my first venture into the great nation of Canada. The farmland of southern Ontario (kind of between Lakes Erie & Ontario) is FULL of acres of beautiful fruit farms. I have never seen so many apple, peach, and pear trees, and vineyards, in one place.

Lake Ontario obviously offers a great climate for growing fruit. We visited a vineyard in Ontario, as well as several in Niagara County, New York. The terroir there exudes a certain.... juicy yum yum yum.

Anyways, our trip's highlights were Niagara Falls (which is a 725,000 gallons per second movement of water from Lake Erie into Lake Ontario - how is Lake Erie not empty by now?!) and Toronto. I truly enjoyed the drive between Niagara and Toronto, which loops around the western end of Lake Ontario. Beautiful views at Harbourfront in Toronto, too - check it out!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Ontario also viewed

 

Been to Lake Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.