We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here 3 nights. It was quiet and restful. The bed was comfortable. It was a newly renovated room with nice amenities. It is located across from Union Station which was convenient for me since I took the train. There are shops and restaurants underground which is nice since you do not have to go outside when it is cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    54
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
52
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here to attend a conference and we stayed for three nights. We drover here and although there is a lot of construction right out front of the building right now, we had a very nice time (the lady at the desk switched our room to the other side of the hotel to ensure that we wouldn't be bothered by any outside construction noise).
We were warned upfront at the desk that because this is an older hotel that there are noises that you will hear through the walls. We could hear when people were talking loudly in the hall but everything else was quiet and this did not detract from our stay.
We booked a Queen Fairmont room and it was very comfortable. Many of the rooms are being upgraded and our room was one of the ones that had been newly done. The room itself is beautiful. There's a Keurig coffee maker, a nice TV, a comfortable desk, an armchair and a very comfortable bed.
The service at this hotel is very good. Everyone was very accommodating and kind. We were immediately offered help with our luggage which was very nice.
The location is fantastic as it's right downtown. You can walk to most of the major sights. If you don't want to go out for dinner there are five restaurants to choose from within the hotel itself.
We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that had been renovated and branded as Fairmont luxury room. It was a beautiful room, modern decor and functional. It is an old hotel so there are some limitations; for example the bathroom is underwhelming as they have so little space to work with. However, they made the best of it with a lovely walk in shower with rainfall head etc. Beds are comfortable. Easy to adjust heating and cooling. Excellent wifi connection.

The hotel is super convenient. Right across from union station (connected under ground) which is where the new train from Pearson Airport will stop when it starts operating later in May.

We found the staff to be excellent. It seemed they appreciated your business and were working to make sure we had a good stay.

We are Fairmont President Club members (free to join) and enjoyed the benefits of the program.

There are a lot of hotel choices in Toronto but the RYH continues to be my preference

Room Tip: Rooms on Front Street have views of the CN Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was an unplanned stay at the hotel after a night out. The location was perfect as my friend had a train to catch the next morning, and the concierges made everything feel really comfortable. The building and the lobby made me feel as if I stepped into scenes from the past, and it was easy to immerse myself into a little story and pretend and play the role.

Unfortunately, the charm broke once I awoke up in the morning and looked closely. The room is just outdated and all the cleaning can't salvage the time, like an old, rusty kitchen. It seems they've forgotten about this cheap, old room withering away inside. Too bad that opening one of the doors on the maze-like floor breaks the charm.

Still, it's one of those hotels that I'd go for a travel experience rather than a simple night's sleep. Next time, I'll plan ahead so I can spend some time to see what the other doors hold than running away at the chime of a bell.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and being aware of the ongoing construction asked for a room away from the noise. We were placed next to the stairwell on the 7th floor and woke up to jackhammering in the staircase the next morning. The jackhammering only stopped for coffee and lunch breaks all day Monday and Tuesday. I called the front desk on Monday and was given a scripted apology and told the noise would stop at 6:00pm. When the Bell Hop showed up at 11:00am on Tuesday morning we had yell to communicate. I asked the Bell Hop if the hotel was full and his reply was a negative.
I would suggest that the hotel management and construction crews communicate to identify the areas that are going to be disruptive to the guests. They could then try and ensure the guests are placed away from activities similar to jackhammering.
I am a Fairmont Presidents Club member and am very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off, another excellent iteration of the Fairmont Brand. Location is right in the heart of the financial district with a 2 min stroll to Air Canada Center. Lots of restaurants and other attractions / shopping close.

Upon arrival there is quite a bit of construction around the hotel (like most of Toronto) and this impacts the traditional traffic pattern where one must go around the back to valet park upon arrival. The signage is good however, even if I didn't see it, and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.

Check in was a breeze at the Presidents club line (free to sign up and solid benefits for a few stays). The hotel is renovating floor by floor and I secured a renovated room on the second floor. Beautiful room with a good blend of modern and traditional design elements. Room service was spot on - decently priced as well and quick. The gym is excellent and open 24 hours lots of weights and cardio equipment. The pool facility is beautiful with a limited lap pool, kids pool and hot tub. There is a variety of restaurants in the hotel; I was able to try the lobby restaurant for brunch twice and library bar for drinks. Both are staffed with some of the best waiters in the business and the food / drinks are without any complaint.

Lots of history to this property - pictures of the dedication by the Queen and history of Toronto. Many original historical details. Did not have a chance to check out many of the shops or businesses within the hotel. Concierge was very good as well on the main floor with all requests.

Fairmont is a chain that does a very good job and this hotel is no exception.

Room Tip: Ask for a luxury room - this will be renovated. Also join the Presidents Club.
See more room tips
Green Features: Same as other chains - good effort to conserve and reuse where possible.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here last weekend as part of a large group celebrating a significant milestone. We had not stayed at the Royal York for a number of years and were very pleased. The room was clean and well appointed, the toiletries of a good standard, and the ambience relaxing. We were treated most courteously at check in and enjoyed the buffet breakfast the following day. While somewhat pricey, the selection was extensive and included unlimited coffee and juice. We shall choose the Royal York more frequently in the future.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#10 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.