We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place, Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellport, New York
1 review
“Outstanding Place, Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I just returned from a conference at the hotel; we traveled with our two young sons and stayed for three nights. Upon check-in, the desk agent saw that we had kids with us, and upgraded us to a suite (free of charge) so we would have more room. Our room was gorgeous and immaculate, with amazing views of the CN Tower and skyline. We used the pool and health club; it was very clean and the water was warm. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel went above and beyond to be kind and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend to anyone looking for a gorgeous hotel that is friendly to kids. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is very nice; lots of places to eat, easy walk to subway, CN Tower, Rogers Center, Ripley's Aquarium, etc. We were out after dark and felt totally safe. Toronto is a great city, and this is a great home base to see it from.

Room Tip: Great views on the 18th floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Green linen program in place; hotel uses glass instead of plastic.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    51
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
50
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wifi is extra, and parking is a lot extra ($53? Come on!). Rooms are just average. I called the night before for my car to be brought up at 6AM the next morning because I needed to be at the airport and it wasn't ready, which made the trip very rushed. My room was uncomfortably warm even with the heat off and the window open...and my neighbors were really loud (which is saying something since I am only in my twenties).
On the positive side of things; the staff were friendly, the hotel is beautiful, and the library bar was great!
I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel staff are very friendly and professional and the hotel is aesthetically nice and clean. The check-in staff even helped us select a room that was away from the exterior construction.

However, all the amenities and services mean little when one doesn't get a good night sleep due to neighbours having drinking parties in their room. We placed our first call to the lobby after midnight and a security staff immediately came up to speak with the women in the neighbouring room. Then we were awoken again at 3:30am by yelling and people spilling out onto the hallway floor in a drunken manner, likely the same group of people. We called again and the staff promptly came up again to serve them a second warning. The women were then up and loud again at 8am, and therefore not leaving much of a window to sleep. To the hotel's credit they offered us a free breakfast at Epic without us prompting, and it was delicious. Given that it’s an older building with thin walls, I would recommend a policy be implemented, as I've seen in place at other hotels, were guests get kicked out of the hotel after their second warning for excessive noise.

The other thing we found disappointing is that for a high end hotel that charges high end prices we expect free Wifi, as cheaper hotels provide this service. This is reason enough for us to select another hotel next time as it's widely provided at other hotels. Charging up to $20 a day in addition to high hotel prices is not good service.

Overall, the staff responded to the noise issue very professionally, but unfortunately no matter how beautiful the hotel is it doesn't make up for a rough night sleep. Good sleep is my top priority when selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is so magnificent. Love the location and the historical building. You can walk from there almost everywhere. The lobby is huge, decorated with an antique and modern furniture. The toilets in the lobby could use a little work. Bartender could be friendlier.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for one night following a surgical procedure, and we really enjoyed our stay overall. The staff were friendly and helpful, accomodating us to check in very early which eased some of the stress from our day. We had a newer renovated room with a good view of the CN Tower. The room was clean, bright, and pleasant. We ordered room service for dinner and although a little expensive for our budget, the food was delicious. Our room service also came with a pretty little vase of flowers which cheered me up after my surgery;) The hotel has quite a few renovations underway so it was a little noisey at some points. This is a daily occurrence between 9-6 apparently, but we didn't find it too disruptive while we were there. The hotel is in a great location to get around downtown Toronto - right above the subway and Union Station. It's within walking distance from many attractions including the Eaton Centre, Ripley's Aquarium, CN Tower, tons of restaurants and so much more. My husband and I are native Torontonians but we enjoyed our stay so much that we've decided to plan a future getaway here just for fun.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was great, hotel was terrible. Old stinky hotel that is worn and broken down. Had very loud noise of power tools from 10 AM to 5 PM every day due to renovations. Every single entrance has stairs with no ramps and only one lift that was broken the entire 10 days of our stay. Had to carry a double stroller up/down stairs every day. No excuse for not having ramps. Shower didn't drain, sink leaked onto floor, could never get the room warm enough, had a water leak in my ceiling during my stay. Will never stay at a Fairmont hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Royal York Hotel for four nights in April 2015. The hotel is a classic. There was a significant amount of construction both inside the hotel and in the surrounding area of downtown Toronto. We were placed on one of the older floors, and this detracted somewhat from the over all enjoyment - wall paper peeling, exposed screws above the bed where a picture should have been, wonky lamps, etc. However, the service was excellent. The health club and pool were great. And the restaurant options were really good albeit very expensive. Breakfast at Epic was delicious and dinner at Benihana was tasty and fun. A fully renovated Royal York would merit 5 stars. Still highly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#10 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#35 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.