We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the high price tag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fredericton, New Brunswick
1 review
“Not worth the high price tag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wifi is extra, and parking is a lot extra ($53? Come on!). Rooms are just average. I called the night before for my car to be brought up at 6AM the next morning because I needed to be at the airport and it wasn't ready, which made the trip very rushed. My room was uncomfortably warm even with the heat off and the window open...and my neighbors were really loud (which is saying something since I am only in my twenties).
On the positive side of things; the staff were friendly, the hotel is beautiful, and the library bar was great!
I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
49
10
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel staff are very friendly and professional and the hotel is aesthetically nice and clean. The check-in staff even helped us select a room that was away from the exterior construction.

However, all the amenities and services mean little when one doesn't get a good night sleep due to neighbours having drinking parties in their room. We placed our first call to the lobby after midnight and a security staff immediately came up to speak with the women in the neighbouring room. Then we were awoken again at 3:30am by yelling and people spilling out onto the hallway floor in a drunken manner, likely the same group of people. We called again and the staff promptly came up again to serve them a second warning. The women were then up and loud again at 8am, and therefore not leaving much of a window to sleep. To the hotel's credit they offered us a free breakfast at Epic without us prompting, and it was delicious. Given that it’s an older building with thin walls, I would recommend a policy be implemented, as I've seen in place at other hotels, were guests get kicked out of the hotel after their second warning for excessive noise.

The other thing we found disappointing is that for a high end hotel that charges high end prices we expect free Wifi, as cheaper hotels provide this service. This is reason enough for us to select another hotel next time as it's widely provided at other hotels. Charging up to $20 a day in addition to high hotel prices is not good service.

Overall, the staff responded to the noise issue very professionally, but unfortunately no matter how beautiful the hotel is it doesn't make up for a rough night sleep. Good sleep is my top priority when selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is so magnificent. Love the location and the historical building. You can walk from there almost everywhere. The lobby is huge, decorated with an antique and modern furniture. The toilets in the lobby could use a little work. Bartender could be friendlier.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was great, hotel was terrible. Old stinky hotel that is worn and broken down. Had very loud noise of power tools from 10 AM to 5 PM every day due to renovations. Every single entrance has stairs with no ramps and only one lift that was broken the entire 10 days of our stay. Had to carry a double stroller up/down stairs every day. No excuse for not having ramps. Shower didn't drain, sink leaked onto floor, could never get the room warm enough, had a water leak in my ceiling during my stay. Will never stay at a Fairmont hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Royal York Hotel for four nights in April 2015. The hotel is a classic. There was a significant amount of construction both inside the hotel and in the surrounding area of downtown Toronto. We were placed on one of the older floors, and this detracted somewhat from the over all enjoyment - wall paper peeling, exposed screws above the bed where a picture should have been, wonky lamps, etc. However, the service was excellent. The health club and pool were great. And the restaurant options were really good albeit very expensive. Breakfast at Epic was delicious and dinner at Benihana was tasty and fun. A fully renovated Royal York would merit 5 stars. Still highly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel, lives up to the Fairmont name but a couple of tips to make it better, The walls between the rooms are thin, I can hear the telephone ringing from the other room, The water shower pressure is very low and cannot be adjusted, The Front St construction is making access to the hotel difficult and puts it in a shrubby atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited Toronto this weekend in order to take advantage of the Winterlicious Menus around town. The Fairmont was offering a 40% discount, so we took advantage of the price and location. We have stayed in several hotels in Toronto but this was our first visit here. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. They all seemed to be enjoying their jobs and had a smile for everyone. Our room was turned down and water placed by the bedside. The bed was extremely comfortable (and I am very picky) and the room temperature was perfect. Room was also very clean. Just a suggestion – DO NOT take water from the mini bar – It was over ten dollars (Evian) and it tasted like poison. It wasn’t past its date, so not sure what was up with that. The beer was only $8.00 and actually tasted like beer :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#10 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#35 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.