We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two hour check in started off wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Royal York Festive Guide
Ranked #37 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Two hour check in started off wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The two hours plus that it took for us to receive our room on an admittedly busy long Thanksgiving weekend started our trip off in a bad note. Rooms are ok, but bathrooms need updating. Food and dining service in restaurant and lounge were severely disappointing. The staff were the only high point -- extremely polite and friendly, a great attitude. Overall, we were disappointed with the quality of this Fairmont. There are loads of great hotels and deals to be found in TO. Next time we will likely stay elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are disappointed to learn we failed to exceed your expectations. I apologize for the delay in receiving your guestroom and while it does not excuse your experience, what is reported is atypical. Regardless, I will be following up to ensure similar experiences are prevented. I am happy to know you found our team to be extremely polite and friendly. Hopefully, you will reconsider your decision. I invite you to contact me directly prior to any arrival so I may ensure an enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,090
    637
    327
    154
See reviews for
549
1,009
212
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Royal York is a historic heritage hotel. It has all of the advantages and some of the disadvantages of theis type of property. I stay there almost every time I am in Toronto and have been staying there for years,

On the plus side,

Amazing location for down town Toronto
Wonderful public area and public rooms
Heritage decor
Very comfortable
Great staff
Good food and drink


On the down side

Occasional challenges with slightly tired rooms but there is constant renovation and improvement going on

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your observations from your visits over the years. We are delighted to know you choose to stay with us when in Toronto. We look forward to welcoming your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Fairmont. Our check-in was smooth and the staff very friendly. The lobby area and shops on the lower level are very nice. Our room was very comfortable with our requested feather pillows. The concierge was very helpful in restaurant choices and other requests that we had. We had drinks in the bar with a good entertainment on the piano. We ate one night in the Fairmont and it was very good. Only downside was a lot of construction in the city around the hotel, but didn't deter our lovely visit at the Royal York. We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend. Had an excellent stay. Service is excellent, the room was clean and this is a beautiful hotel. The mattress in our room had seend better days and the bathroom may need a new coat of paint but that`s about it. It was the birthday of my better half and we got upgraded to a great room. Nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are happy to learn you had an excellent stay over Thanksgiving weekend. Thank you for bringing our attention to the reported issues. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed a complimentary upgrade to mark your significant other’s birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well furnished rooms, large tv, comfortable beds and nice and clean. Shower and bathroom are great. Although the general atmosphere is a bit dated and old fashioned the new wing is nicely updated and feels more modern than the rest of the hotel. My main issue was WIFI. Paying for wifi is akin to paying for water or electricity!! Such a large hotel should be offering free wifi and higher speeds once you pay for it

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed your guestroom and found it to be clean. It’s not uncommon for luxury hotel brands to charge for WiFi. While recognizing this does not meet everyone’s expectations, we are happy to provide complimentary internet at most of our hotel restaurants including York’s Deli. We also have a computer in the lobby that you can used to check your flight status and print boarding passes complimentary. Free internet is also one of the many benefits all of our hotels offer to members of our loyalty program, Fairmont President’s Club. There is no fee to enroll and members receive personalized recognition through individual profiles, along with access to express check-in and other great value-adds! Don’t forget to add your number to your reservation or provide it upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've often attended (and indeed put on) seminars and conferences here. I've eaten and drunk here too, but this was the first time I've stayed. Not great. Not awful, but really should and could easily be better. Seems to be a lack of staff - the breakfast lines at EPIC restaurant were ridiculous, and it doesn't open until 7 which is too late on working days. I saw some very long queues at check in/out, though I checked out very early so was ok. When I arrived my room wasn't ready; fair enough as I was a little early. I waited for the promised call, didn't come. So I went to check and yes, a room was ready....

My room was ok (10-152), though it was not one of the renovated rooms. No safe. Comfortable bed, adequate bathroom, good shower.

All in all a bit disappointing. This could be fantastic - the lobby and the bar are great spaces. Maybe when the Union Station construction is finished they will smarten up the act, but this is not what I expect from Fairmont

Room Tip: Get one at the back - the front is a construction site at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are concerned to discover we failed to exceed your expectations during your first overnight stay. We apologize for the reported shortfalls and will follow-up with our team to ensure similar experiences are prevented.

Future guests: We are in the process of in-room safes being installed throughout the entire hotel. Should you require a guestroom with a safe during your stay, please be sure to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was surprised to check in a room with terrible smell and with the underwear of previous occupants and the ice container covered by ice cream. After calling the housekeeping, they came with air fresher. The smell returned. I called housekeeping again to give the room a thorough cleaning. Eventually, they changed me to a new room without smell and sent me a card and a little present to apologise and clean the new room well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Tim Morrison, Hotel Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are extremely concerned by this feedback and take this very seriously. We have reached out to you to confirm additional details and ensure that we prevent an oversight of this severity from ever reoccurring. We apologize profusely and can assure you that this is in no way reflective of the quality and service we are truly accustomed to delivering. We look forward to apologizing in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.