We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price of history?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The price of history?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at other Fairmont hotels. We stayed in one of the President's Club rooms.

We were given an option of a room with a view or a better room whose window was blocked due to construction. It was at best a three star room: small, quite threadbare with banged up furniture smoke detector hanging a bit askew and very noisy.

There was a loud constant sound right outside our window and we could hear the room across the hall easily.

It is a stunning building and service staff are wonderful but in terms of the rooms, and noise I am sad to say I'm not sure I would return. I hope this gorgeous hotel can really restore its former glory.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Tim Morrison, Hotel Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review—we are concerned by your feedback on your guestroom and have contacted you directly so that we can follow up with respect to the issues that you report. While we are happy to know that our staff were wonderful, we are very sorry for the condition of your guestroom and the noise disturbance—this is not reflective of our normal level of quality and we will ensure that you never encounter this again on any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    1,045
    618
    318
    150
See reviews for
530
977
202
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a lovely Valentine's Weekend stay in Toronto. Upon arrivlal, the checkin line was terrible, and so long. Like an entire tour bus arrived at exactly the same time. We went into the crowded bar for a drink. It was a nice way to unwind and let the line get smaller. We had a corner suite with a smallish washroom. But is was all very clean and welcoming. Shortly after arriving we were presented with Champagne and strawberries and a rose - a wonderfully romantic start to the evening! Only odd thing, the heat control in the room was difficult. It was opposite to what one would expect and the room was very warm. Once we figured it out, very comfortable.Breakfast was included in the package. We selected a healthy breakfast and it was great! So much fruit, lots of toast, great coffee. A lovely weekend treat that we would love to repeat!

Room Tip: Higher you go, view of the lake or city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Tim Morrison, Hotel Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback—we apologize for the line you encountered at check-in but are at least happy to know that this gave you a chance to unwind and enjoy a beverage before checking-in to your room. We are thrilled that your romantic getaway was enjoyable overall and hope that you’ll come back for a repeat visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Royal York for a conference. It is in a great location and it has a great history; however, it is showing its age. My room was entirely too close to the elevators which meant that I heard them all the time. The room was moderate in size and had the necessary amenities but again, was not first-rate. In fact, I had the opportunity to spend some time in one of the large suites and I was surprised with its mediocraty.
Great for the historic value, but not for the price.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators. And, the west side is covered in scaffolding right now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There is nothing quite like the Royal York. I've always believed you could stay here, never leave the hotel and still have a terrific feel for Toronto. Don't miss breakfast at Epic nor the historic photos on the mezzanine. They tell the stories of the hotel in the days it had its own hospital and golf course. Ditto on the photos of royal visits.

Room Tip: Be sure to face south, toward the lake and high enough up to have a clear view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Tim Morrison, Hotel Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it’s wonderful to know that our unique history added to your experience and we’re glad that you had a chance to enjoy the photos on our Main Mezzanine. We look forward to our earliest opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

For the first time, my husband and I stayed at the Royal York for 1 night. (We have stayed in many different downtown Toronto hotels over the years.) Pros - Great location, friendly service, very comfortable bed, free Wifi with President's Club. Cons - room was a little dated and on the small side, dining / bars were expensive.
Bottom Line - would stay again....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am delighted you and your husband recently stayed with for your first time. It is wonderful you found our location to be great and our team to provide great service. We are aware some of our rooms are older than others and would benefit from updated décor. Recently we commenced the first stage of our renovation plan with bringing updates to 200 guestrooms. We are looking forward to you returning for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great. Great location, great service... Just don't get a room by the elevator as they are old elevators and are so loud. It sounds like a train is going by all night long.

The one other thing I noticed though is the bottled water in the room was ridiculously expensive to the point where I wouldn't even be able to expense it. 8/9 bucks for a bottled water is a bit outrageous and it wasn't even chilled. After everything that went down with Bev Oda (Canadian MP) that got ousted for having a ridiculously expensive hotel orange juice in her expenses you think Fairmont would make their water a bit more reasonable for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room beside the elevator they are so loud I couldn't sleep very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Tim Morrison, Hotel Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback—it’s wonderful to know that you thought everything about the hotel was great. We apologize for the noise disturbance caused by the elevators. This bothers some guests more than others and we suggest enrolling in Fairmont President’s Club so that we can had your preference for a room away from the elevators to your personalized room preference profile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a corner suite on the fourth floor that was fantastic. The facilities are excellent, the decor is a treat, and the staff are very helpful. As this was our second stay, we were left a 'welcome back' gift of freshly-made sweets from the kitchen that was a pleasant surprise. We will definitely be back, The Royal York is an excellent home base from which to explore the delights of Toronto.

Room Tip: The corner suite gave a good view down front street, and toward the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Family Hotel in Toronto
#38 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.