We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess this was a nice place once” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Royal York Festive Guide
Ranked #37 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I guess this was a nice place once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place came recommended by my travel assistant and since I absolutely LOVE the Fairmont in Santa Monica, I was really excited about my stay here.
Whomp Whomp.
Its more like the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond Virginia except not well maintained.
It just feels old but not in a good way. Like in a sad way.

Service was nice, although you never really see anyone and no one really checks on you.

Its also crazy loud - you can hear everything in the halls, on the streets and in the rooms next to you.

Its also in the financial district so you don't really experience any charm or culture.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is wonderful to learn you love our sister property in Santa Monica, California. I apologize that your experience with us did not exceed your expectations. I am delighted to learn you found our service to be nice and would like to share we have commenced the first stage of our renovation plan and look forward to addressing improved soundproofing. We hope you will be able to return and enjoy our location in the heart of downtown Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    1,089
    637
    327
    154
See reviews for
548
1,007
211
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel because we were attending a big conference. I knew this was to be a fancy hotel by it's name and history. Here's the problem, it was old!! The architecture in the lobby and meeting rooms was amazing, but you don't sleep there. The rooms were incredibly old and dated. My colleague had to crawl under her bed to find a plug in to charge her phone. You could actually stand in the tub and toilet at the same time and couldn't stand at the sink unless the door was closed. Housekeeping was limited, I think they made the bed and emptied the trash.

There were a few pluses - check in was very fast and efficient, the beds were just the right firmness and the pillows were fantastic.Also, although overpriced, the food and service at the Epic was very good.

I didn't encourage the conference to return to this hotel in the future. I suggested they go back to the Sheraton on Queen, where the amenities were much more user friendly for a business conference.

Room Tip: It appeared they were doing updates, I was on the 6th - co-worker on the 9th, clearly the 6th was mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Katharine, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to learn our rooms did not exceed your expectations. We have recently begun our first stage of our renovation plan and look forward to continued updates. I am delighted that you found our check-in to be very fast and efficient. Your feedback for EPIC is appreciated and I am pleased you found them to provide food and service that was very good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel is lovely and up to Fairmont Expectations. Our particular room was very lovely. Recommend executive level. The Lobby is elegant and inviting and we had a wonderful dinner with very good service in the Imperial Room. Breakfast in the morning was delivered swiftly and hot. Extra newspapers were not a problem. Don't go to this Hotel expecting Modern Yuppie Service. The Hotel is staid and elegant and refined, and good value for what you receive although it is not your Budget Location, and should not be expected to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Pretty disappointed with this hotel. You can tell the hotel is old by the condition of the carpet, wall paper, smell of the room and the overall interior. Very surprised that the price of over $200 per night does not include wi-fi and not only that but their business cente, where I need to stop by for an hour work, does NOT have Internet access. Really? It is a business centre in downtown Toronto with no Wi-fi? All business is done online these days! Pretty disappointed overall.
Will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Ashley, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to learn of your feeling of disappointment with your stay. If you would like to discuss your concerns at greater length, we would welcome this opportunity and invite you to contact us directly. We do hope that you will continue to choose Fairmont Hotels and Resorts and suggest that you enroll in our loyalty program, Fairmont President’s Club. If you include your number on your next reservation, you’ll enjoy many benefits including complimentary wifi access.

Future guests: to clarify, our Xerox Business Centre has internet access, including WiFi, though there may be a fee depending on the range of services you utilize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Fairmont Royal York. We were upgraded to a huge suite wih two very large, overized rooms. The room was spacious but the decor really needs to be updated, It is obiously old. The bathroom was large, but there were cracks in the marble, and it was an old style bathtub.
The check in and service were great, the hotel clean and lovely, just in serious need of an update.An old hotel, great location, old rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Halloween weekend. He had stayed at this property 4 years back, and so it was assumed it would be fine. Unfortunately he even told me he didn't remember it being the way it was when we stayed.

The hotel exterior and lobby are beautiful, and being opened in 1929, has a lot of history. The elevators have gorgeous ornate woodwork, and the lobby is large and very classic. The bathrooms have a lot of marble, and while small, was elegant and carried higher quality products. The doormen are dressed in classic attire which is charming and the front desk staff is helpful and non pretentious. I was able to extend my check out to 1pm with no charge. Location is excellent, everything is a walk/cab/subway/bus/short drive away. Now, the surprises.

There is no parking for the hotel, as in they do not have thier own lot. So its valet or self park. The self park closest to the hotel has no elevators, so good luck. Wi-fi is extra unless you book a room upgraded from standard. The standard rooms are old, outdated, and small. The halls are dimly lit and have a slight musky smell to them from the years when smoking was allowed everywhere. While I understand that the hotel is over 80 years old, it is in need of renovations (which I believe they are planning to start soon) and more modern decor (change the carpet, wall paper, beddings, and that would be a major improvement already). The wallpaper was peeling slightly, the carpet had little stains here and there, and the furniture and bedding is out of date and quite worn. There was a few drops of liquid foundation that was not wiped off the bathroom counter, and we found some hair in-between the sheets in one of the beds.

Here's the best part: the hotel was prepaid. We brought our own beer and wine, and moved some stuff around in the mini fridge to accommodate our supply BUT DID NOT TAKE ANYTHING. When we had come back after our night out, there was a reciept for the room charges which didn't make sense as my room was prepaid. When I checked out, the gentleman at the front desk told me that I only booked and was not charged through the site used and this was the charge for the room. WRONG. The site had charged me, and the Fairmont charged me again! Then there was a mysterious extra $70 on my card. When I called to get my refund and inquire about the second charge, I found out the second charge was for items I did not take in the fridge! My suggestion: come up with a better way to keep track of inventory. The woman I spoke to was quick, very pleasant, verified that I had be refunded for both charges, sent me invoices for both refunds by email, and apologized for the mix up. Great customer service.

The stay wasn't terrible, but I've had better and I'm not too picky. For a 1 night stay, it's fine. The hotel needs to update the rooms and furniture within. Also, make sure housekeeping pays more attention to the cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Ashley, Customer Service at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review—while we are happy that our team provided outstanding service and there were many positive aspects of your visit, we sincerely apologize for the lapses in maintenance and housekeeping and for our billing errors. These mistakes are unacceptable and in no way reflective of our normal attention to detail. We have contacted you directly for more information so that we may apologize in a personal way and address these errors with the colleagues involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A real landmark hotel located right in the centre of the city, opposite the main train station and within walking distance of almost everything. Staff were really helpful and friendly, hotel had great facilities, shops and restaurants in the lobby, I especially liked the pool area. The only compliant I would have is the room, although clean was a bit tied looking and there was no free WiFi or Internet access which for a 5 star hotel was really disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.