We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caveat Emptor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Royal York to your Saves list
The Fairmont Royal York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Caveat Emptor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

If you are planning to book a large group or you are part of a large group, beware! The Fairmont could not find rooms this week for guests with reservations (me and others) who were staying at the hotel in connection with a large conference at the nearby convention center. As late as 5pm, several people were still being told "come back by 9pm and we'll see if we have a room." The excuse - "a lot of people have delayed checking out." I leave it for you to be the judge on that one. I did get a room, by the way, at 9pm, and it wasn't worth the wait nor was the "parlor with a Pullman bed" they offered me at 5pm as an alternative. Add to that desk personnel who really could have cared less becaue it wasn't their fault - it's made for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your post—we take your comments very seriously. I apologize as your guestroom should always be ready for you upon arrival. I understand that were able to speak with you in person. We appreciate this and will follow up with our front desk agents as their behavior was not consistent with the level of service we are accustomed to providing. Any future guests who have questions or concerns are welcome to reach out to us directly. We would be happy to speak with you in advance of your arrival so that we can ensure your stay exceeds your expectations.

We wanted to note that June 2011 has been and will continue to be an especially lively month in Toronto. Next week, we are looking forward to rolling out the green carpet and welcoming the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA). We are excited to celebrate Indian cinema, IIFA’s environmental stewardship and Toronto’s Diversity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,095
    638
    327
    154
See reviews for
550
1,012
213
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a spectacular property. Right across from Union station. If you plan to use public transportation, this location is very convenient and easy to get around. I only stayed for one night so did not get to use too many facilities

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Royal York hotel in downtown Toronto. I was aware of its history as a grand old railroad hotel like the Greenbrier and that its now a Fairmont property, so I had high expectations. I was gretaly disappointed. The guest rooms are very dated and tiny. They desperately need renovating. To top it off, the hotel hoisted some kind of conference and allowed dozens of the conference attendees to stand at the entrances to the hotel and smoke. You had to walk through billowing clouds of smoke to get in and out of the building. Being asthmatic, this was a big problem for me. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We are discussing renovation plans with our owners and hope to address any rooms that are in need of an update as soon as possible. I will share your post with our Management team so that we can discuss how to improve the overall hotel experience for our many non-smoking guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

First stop on my honeymoon was this fantastic hotel in Toronto, located in the centre of downtown.

First impressions are a warm and welcoming lobby which is stunning and grand to view and a highlight of the hotel.

We had a room with a view at the front of the hotel, although the view is now somewhat spoiled by the high-rises blocking out the bay!

Room was exceptionally clean and easily large enough to accomodate the king-size bed, desk, chairs and all of our cases. Large bathroom with very nice amenities.

The hotel is located immediately next to the Union Station providing transports links to all parts of Toronto. It's actually connected via underground walkways with much of the downtown area meaning you never have to head outside if the weather is unpleasant. Also connected via skywalk to the CN Tower and the Air Canada centre.

There are a choice of places to eat and drink within the hotel, from a relaxed Irish style pub, to the more upmarket library bar and EPIC dining.

Swimming pool, whirlpool and gym are also extremely clean and were not busy - plenty of robes and towels etc provided.

Worth a visit is the mezanine level which has photos on the wall detailing the history of the hotel and famous people who have stayed over the years (including HRH on occasion!)

Only slight issue is that the lobby isn't actually at ground level, and you need to climb up or down a few stairs (~10) to approach from any direction (I couldn't find a ramp anywhere). There were staff on every door willing to help if you need assistance with luggage.

Final point (as others have mentioned too) - join their membership programme for free prior to arriving. This will entitle you to free internet access, and free gym wear (shoes, shorts etc) while you are there.

Overall a fantastic experience

Room Tip: Booked via a travel agent for big discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for your post. Our hotel team is honoured that you chose The Fairmont Royal York as the first stop on your honeymoon. We appreciate your taking the time to review your experience in detail and are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went back to the Royal York this year after a less than spectacular visit last year. Why the return? Coming in to Toronto by train from Montreal on VIA Rail, there is nothing more convenient than this old Canadian Pacific Hotel now operated by Fairmont Hotels. It is located right across the street from Union Station and you can roll your luggage right across the street to the hotel using the connecting tunnel underground. Like all older hotels, the rooms vary enormously - from last year's tiny room and bathroom to this year's ample mini-suite with adjoining living room and large bathroom. Is it worth the gamble? I think so if you plan ahead and don't book the rock-bottom accomodations. In return, apart from a great room, you'll get a lobby that seems out of the old movie "Grand Hotel", a mezzanine with comfortable easy chairs and interesting historical photographs, a lobby bar full of character if slightly noisy with American tourists, and the Epic restaurant and bar which you will certainly prefer to the Benihana's in the lower floor. The hotel is centrally located with the Distillery District, the St. Lawrence Market, the CN Tower, the Eaton Center, the Four Seasons Opera Hall, and the West End theater district with the Second City Comedy Club all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Join Fairmont's President Club before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your review and for giving us a second chance. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience and were able to try our food and beverage outlets. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Toronto. To take advantage of our great location and rates, remember to check out the packages section of our website before booking your next stay. (Current packages include everything from tickets to the CN Tower to a guided tour of St. Lawrence Market and our roof top garden with one of our talented Chefs)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here years ago and enjoyed it. So I was shocked to find how run down the Fairmont RY has become. Within minutes of arriving, I called the Front Desk and asked if we could be moved into another room. Unfortunately, I was told that all Deluxe rooms with 2 dble beds were fully booked.
Our room was spacious, with two separate baths, two closets, sitting area with pull-out couch, and two tall windows. However, the carpet was dirty, the granite counter in one of the bathroom was chipped, there was a dead moth at the corner of the window, lamp on the desk did not work, noisy a/c , sound of water behind the wall, couch was stained and worn out, broken radio alarm clock (has sound but couldn't move up the hours to set time), faucet splashed water all over my clothes, hairs on the tub, and the room was very dusty, with the radio alarm clock especially nasty. Manager of guest services reacted quickly. Our room was dusted when we came back from dinner, and an Air Ionizer/Purifier was put in our room (I have asthma). We truly appreciated the effort Management made to make our stay more comfortable.

To be fair to the Housekeeping team, we were there on a particularly busy weekend (June 10 -12). However, the dirt on the Radio Alarm Clock seems to have been there for a long long time. The lobby was constantly filled with people but check-in was fast and staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinners we had inside the hotel - Epic and Benihanna.

It's unlikely that we would return in the future due to the following reasons: paper-thin door that makes it impossible for us not to hear noises from the hallway; beds that are too soft; the numerous stairs that I have to climb or go down to reach street level no matter what entrance we used; and the analogue TV signal in full screen format displayed in a widescreen flat panel TV (all faces are stretched and screen mode cannot be adjusted). We did not enjoy the bed, the shower, and the TV. What else would one do inside a hotel room? Room amenities were average and nothing to be excited about. This Fairmont Royal York is a hotel with 4 stars pricing but 2 stars furnishing and amenities in our room, which is classified as Deluxe. I feel sorry for the Manaagement. It must have been a constant struggle for them.

BTW, while my daughter and I struggled with our luggages and shopping bags, none of the bell boy and doorman standing around offered to help us. A sign on the door even told us to use the revolving door instead. How does people with wheel chair gets around Fairmont Royal York?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
We sincerely apologize for your overall feeling of disappointment with your stay. We are discussing renovation plans with our owners and look forward to improving any guestrooms that are in need of attention. We are glad that our management team was able to address some of the issues you encountered and that you enjoyed our dining outlets. I hope to obtain additional info from you so that I can ensure these issues are addressed in full. In the interim, your review has been shared with our housekeeping room attendants and bell desk team.

For those who are concerned about wheelchair accessibility, please enter via our East Doors where you can take an elevator up to lobby level. Colleagues are stationed in this area to assist you with luggage and our valet team also operates out of this entrance (for those guests who will be arriving by car).

Our entrances have both revolving and regular doors. When possible, we do suggest that guests and colleagues utilize revolving doors for climate control purposes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great location and very ornate inside. I did enjoy the oversized room they gave me but for the price I was expecting more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Royal York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Royal York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.