We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carrot Common

Carrot Common
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 614 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This busy neighborhood shopping mall in mid-town Toronto includes a central courtyard surrounded by more than 17 stores.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Night time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I only got to see this area after hours when it was closed but as for what I saw, it is a nice, clean area to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Healthy from Head to Toe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was in Toronto for a week and visited this area on the Danforth everyday. I was sooooo impressed with Carrot Common. I had a healthy drink from the juice bar that had Mocha, banana, almond milk and other proteins to get my day started. I felt great all day! I then had health food shopping experience like no other. I loved the area and since I was on a eat "right" kick, this just was the cherry on the sundae to keep me on track. I loved the entire place here!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When I'm on the Danforth, I always pop in here..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I don't live close to Carrot Common but when I am in the area, I always make a point of going in. I love it there. From the products, to the atmosphere and the people working there. They are very helpful to you and are willing to assist you in your needs or finding things you may need.

I have never had a bad experience there. Not once. Ever.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Prices too high to maintain the buzz”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Carrot used to be THE health food place to shop in Toronto. But there are better, less expensive options nowadays. One example might be Whole Foods. The Carrot is a co-operative and although these outfits sound good on paper, in practice, they often fall short. Of the original 8 folks who started the Big Carrot, there is only one left. Lack of direction, inconsistent decision-making and general flakiness has resulted in an overpriced, overhyped, disappointment. Compare their price for say, manuka honey from New Zealand. A small container here equals the cost of 4 or 5 similarly-sized ones from Loblaws. If you ask staff why everything (and I mean everything) costs so much, the answer will be unsatisfactory. It seems foolish to continue supporting such a pricey venue, when alternative sources exist elsewhere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So much more then a health store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I love this store! Great different options then the normal "grocery store" plus it is has amazing healthy options.
The pre made food bar is the best, it changes all the time and is so hard to try and pick just a few. I want them all! Remember to get your number or you will wait all day it is busy, but fast.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrot Common also viewed

 

Been to Carrot Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrot Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.