We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Ontario Museum

Royal Ontario Museum
100 Queen's Park Crescent | At Bloor St., Toronto, Ontario M5S 2C6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-586-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #9 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great way to spend an afternoon especially if its raining...We visited the ROM on a recent visit to toronto and we werent diasppointed...It had floor after floor of wonderful displays from animals, to stones, bird, the list is endless..It is very big so be prepared for a lot of walking but its well worth a visit and a great place for children to discover all the wonders of the world...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    754
    195
    35
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Loved it; inside and outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The 2007 Michael Lee-Chin Crystal addition is fabulous (I am really beginning to appreciate modern architecture after seeing buildings like this)! It is a wonderful combination of older and new architecture. The collection is also nice: from natural history to fashion (highlights include a Ming tomb, a bust of Cleopatra, a barosaurus skeleton, a gigantic totem pole, a white rhino, and huge gems.) It can be difficult to navigate the stairways and elevators since they don’t all go to all floors, but it is fun exploring anyway. They have a nice cafeteria but they have no ice for the soda (I haven’t spent much time in Canada, maybe this is not unusual). There is no museum parking. You have to find parking in one of the area garages.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Way to Spend the Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Being from Chicago the Field Museum is my absolute favorite, but the ROM rated right up there. My son and I spent over six hours exploring the museum. For two basic tickets and parking our total come to about $43.00, which is comparable to other museums. There's a nice cafe there with a large selection of food with many healthy choices. There did seem to be a section of younger children, but for the most part, there was a great deal of reading required unless you're just going to glance at the exhibits. My son and I loved the black and white movie about Nanook in the one exhibit. That's a must see on a visit. It was a great way to spend the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The ROM is an outstanding museum. Collections range from the archeological to a unique display of Chinese pieces. I have always delighted in the Totem Poles which provide a dazzling insight into the art of the North West Coast. Take a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Wonderful Grand Dame of Museums, upgraded.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My hotel is across the street, and from July 2012 to Mar.2013, I had part of my collection on display in the Chinese Dept., so I'd have to say the Chinese Dept. ! But the dinosaurs are still cool.
I did NOT think the Baseball show was worth being in the ROM.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Ontario Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.