We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and Expansive Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Ontario Museum

Royal Ontario Museum
100 Queen's Park Crescent | At Bloor St., Toronto, Ontario M5S 2C6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-586-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #8 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Expansive Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) was a really cool experience. Many different historical time periods and cultures were depicted, and the place is huge inside. Both young and old can enjoy this museum. There are also areas specifically for kids. Set aside plenty of time so that you can see everything!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    753
    192
    35
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mayan exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I felt that I learned what I wanted to know about the Mayan civilization by visiting the ROM. I appreciated the layout, and the various ways the information was presented. I appreciate special exhibits such as this in addition to the regular collections. A wonderful place for learning.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excuse me Mr. Building - you've got Art growing out the side of your...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

All kidding aside - definately worth a day trip. I spend a lot of time travelling across the US and Canada - both of Toronto's museums are a great way to spend the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Water exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

i came for the water exhibit and spent, almost 4 hours going through the whole museum... i heard they had reconfigured the lay out, it was difficult to navigate, still got to see every thing... architecture was very old, it very cool to see...fav part were the totem poles!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“One of the worlds best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

In spite of the awful modern architectural addition by Daniel Lebiskind most of the classic features of this building are still there to be enjoyed. The permanent exhibits are impressive and they always attract lots of families since its so kid friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Ontario Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.