We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Pints, Great Service, and Great Music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whelan's Gate

Whelan's Gate
1663 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario ON M6R, Canada
(416) 531-1311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,160 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food, Great Pints, Great Service, and Great Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was recently at Whelan's, and absolutely loved it! I was there on a Tuesday for the live music. The service was quick and not overbearing. The Guinness was cold and delicious. The Irish music was authentic and not too loud. It was a perfect evening out with Friends. We all ordered food, I had the Dublin burger, which was cooked perfectly. I loved everything about my experience. I highly recommend Whelan's Gate!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I've been to Whelan's Gate a few times in the past and thought it was great, but had a horrible experience yesterday. Started with being given a dirty mug for my tea (about an inch of liquid in it with a scrap of paper floating there), then I was served a stuffed pork tenderloin that was only partially cooked. The raw meat was visible before I cut in, but I cut in half to make sure and demonstrate to the waitress. She took it back and had it cooked more, but didn't take anything off the bill. They have a nice patio, friendly staff and I have had great food in the past here, but I feel too grossed out to go back- too bad.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
“Horrible waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is brutal. If you want to go and have nasty food, that is undercooked, then come here. If you want to wait for a long time for poor food, then come here. If you want to be served by the nastiest waitresses and greasiest cooks, then come here. Plus, if you want to see the same barflies hanging out, making scenes in the street, then come here! When I went, one of the waitresses got into it with a regular and he stood in the middle of the street yelling at her. What a joke!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub..Great eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This pub just keeps getting better...love the staff, they pour a wonderful Guinness and food is great

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Is a great place if you love drunk...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010 via mobile

Is a great place if you love drunk, obnoxious frat boys and their groupies. Not only is the clientele disgusting but the staff is homely and is always trying to harass passerbys into coming to the gate, if they don't they become mouthy. Food is nasty and the patio is small and smoke-filled all the time.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whelan's Gate also viewed

 

Been to Whelan's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whelan's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.