We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 259 Host

259 Host
259 Wellington Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-599-4678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 6,777 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Description: Quality Indian food in a relaxed and intimate setting. The knowledgeable staff will help you choose from their variety of creative dishes.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Top Notch Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a step above most Indian restaurants. The decor and layout are lovely, set on different levels so the feeling is always cosy and intimate. Service was excellent from start to finish. And the food was fantastic. Best naan I've ever had, it was super fresh and layered almost like pastry.
The highlight of our meal was chicken xacuti, a dish recommended by our waiter, one of their signature dishes. It was spicy, but not to the point it obscured the complex flavours of the blended spices. We also had vegetables and biryani, and everything was delicious. This is definitely a restaurant we'll return to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had dinner last week at this restaurant. Ordered Veggie food and absolutely loved it! The papads, chutneys, starters, naans and curries were all delicious. Great ambience as well! Parking costed at least $15 as the hotel doesn't have parking of its own and downtown parking could vary from $10-$20. Service was good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Incomparable fine Indian dining in GTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have been visiting 259 Host since the first day it opened and every visit has been a refreshing experience. Because of my excellent experiences and trust i have with Host that, i have never shied away to bring my business partners or my friends, or hosting personal New year parties.
The menu is very unique and is a bliss and yet authentic with influence from various indian regional cuisine. Host accommodates if your heart desires something special and they have ingredients for it. Ambience is one of its kind, split over multiple levels to give your own space whether it is business meeting, family event or just having good time with friends. Service is unparalled, especially Amir, Rohan and Indrani have always ensured to give their guests, a complete hospitality experience. I am always looking forward to my next visit and would highly recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great food in nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

After three weeks in Cuba, we were desperate for food with Taste! With spice! So we headed straight for the closest indian restaurant after checking into our hotel, and were not disappointed. Very friendly service and good recommendations, and the meal was heavenly. Maybe the contrast was too big after staying for weeks in the worlds worst culinary destination, but I can't fault the food at 259 Host. The interior and background music wasn't very Indian though, more like a contemporary western restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ambience was excellent, service was excellent and food was excellent. Try the shrimp and crabcake appetizer. Looks bland but tastes amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 259 Host also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to 259 Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 259 Host, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.