We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro Pub Extraordinaire!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen and Beaver Public House

The Queen and Beaver Public House
35 Elm Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
647 347 2712
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gastro Pub Extraordinaire!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived to the Pub about 6:00 pm and the lower resaurant was not crowded so we got a table right away. The wait staff was very good and gave us time (and tips) on the extensive pub menu I have ever seen and some thing I have never heard of! I ordered the hamburger and chips...very good. Other ordered the veal shank with brussel sprouts which were done just right. I also had the Wild Blueberry pudding and watch out for the meringue...wow..talk about tasty....done just right. The atmoshere in the restaurant was much more upscale than I imagined a English Pub would be...nice place for a date. The only disappoint for the night was their hard apple pub cider....the flavor was not very good compared to others I have had in other parts of the world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    56
    43
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great English style pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A rarity for Nortn America where drinkers not wanting to eat are welcomed and treated in a civil manner. A comfortable lounge and roof top patio with intelligent staff serving good quality wine and beer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Pomorskie, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are more nice restaurants in this area, but not many have such a nice terrace. The food is good, the price acceptable, the service ok.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I used to be a regular of the restaurant that was in the location of the Queen and Beaver so I was definitely hesitant to fall in love again. I always appreciate the Elm Street restaurants because of their close proximity to my hotel, but more importantly their quality. If I was staying in a totally different location, I would likely make a bee-line to this area for food. All that being said, the Queen and Beaver is such a lovely place with fantastic food! The place is wonderfully decorated and you feel like you're in an english pub. Football on the tele, fish and chips, bangers and mash on the menu, stout and ale on tap! What especially impresses me is the creative take on classic british food. I had a scotch egg (that's right!) and it was prepared in a non-traditional way but really managed to be more flavourful than what I am used to. My chips included homemade ketchup which was fantastic! I don't actually enjoy ketchup! There are two floors of seating inside. First floor is more traditional seating, second floor is "the pub" and outside is a patio. All unique with great service. My only suggestion for improvement would be a more extensive british bar selection. The Quebec stout I had was fantastic, but it felt a bit odd to me to not have a Guinness option (even though that is so common!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were staying nearby, so we decided to give The Queen and Beaver a try. We sat in the upstairs bar and just had a few drinks. The prices were reasonable and the staff was very fun & friendly. They had a few cider options, which I really appreciated!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen and Beaver Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Queen and Beaver Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen and Beaver Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.