We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melanie's Bistro

Melanie's Bistro
1870 Danforth Ave., Toronto, Ontario m4c1j4, Canada
416 422 1870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: French, Italian, Bistro, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife Martha and I have been coming here since it opened and I wanted to recognize the great food and service. Lately, I have been ordering the steak; the mushroom sauce that comes with it is fabulous. What can I say? The reason we keep coming back is because of the excellent food and service. Thanks Melanie!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining Quality in a Comfortable Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just a little east of Coxwell Avenue on the Danforth, is a hidden gem that will wow and satisfy the most decerning of palettes. That restaurant is Melanie's Bistro!

I have been patroning Melanie's Bistro for over three years and am never disappointed. It is a restaurant that provides an exceptional dining experience with fair prices and a comfortable atmosphere.

FOOD: The menu at Melanie's Bistro is small, but don't let that fool you, as each dish has been finely tuned to tantalize your taste-buds. Everyone who I know who has eaten there has oohed and ahhed from the flavours and fusions prepared by the chef. My favourite appetizer is a breaded goat cheese, apricots and greens and my favourite main dish is the chicken stuffed with spinach and cranberries. I also recommend the duck and the steak.
For dessert, I always get the Crème brûlée topped with fresh berries and my husband loves their caramel cheesecake - all the desserts are made in-house.

ATMOSPHERE: As described, Melanie's Bistro is fine dining without the pretentiousness. It is comfortable, minimal, and showcases contemporary and urban art, while playing an assortment of quiet music that people of all ages can appreciate. Melanie always takes the time to stop by and ensure that all is to your liking. As a new mom, I was especially appreciative that Melanie's Bistro was so welcoming to families with babies, allowing us to have some space for the carriage. If you have a baby and want to dine here, just call in advance and let them know. They are very accommodating - another reason I keep going back.

PRICES: In life, you get what you pay for, but at Melanie's Bistro, I think you get more.
The quality of each dish, from the ingredients, cuts, and preparation, always leave me feeling that I have gotten my money's worth.

In conclusion, I hope you'll give them a try as I know you won't be disappointed! Just thinking about their menu makes me want to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“East end delight on the Danforth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've been frequenting Melanies now for almost the full 5 years its been open. Two things you can always count on. The food will be solid and well executed, and Melanie will always take the time to chat and share a laugh.
I like the fact that they keep the menu short and simple, the wine by the bottle at extremely reasonable prices, and they don't try to be something they are not. This is a quaint bistro, with great food, simple décor and a comfortable relaxed vibe.
I can honestly say every person we have taken there has left more than satisfied.
Congrats on the first five years guys, and here's to many many more !

Ps Please bring back the butter chicken !!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you like something-stick with it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

By that I mean the "NEWFOUNDLAND BREAKFAST SPECIAL" I am a very slow eater,but this dish I eat especially slow.Just to savor every bite! Poached eggs on cod-cakes---what a combination! I live at the other end of the city,it's a little trip to get to Melanie's,therefore it will always and only be "Newf.Breakf.Spec. My friend and I got there the first time with reservations made and found it unneccessary if arriving early enough

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Warmth of the Danforth, a true Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at "Melanie's Bistro" in Sept 2012 and I apologize for the late review. We enjoyed the atmostphere during a weekend brunch. The service was intimate and personal. My husband still raves about his dish "Rahul’s Huevos Rancheros", and I also very much enjoyed mine too the "Fresh Salmon BLT". Looking forward to going back and trying some more and this time at dinner. ! Bravo to small innovative business !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanie's Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Melanie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melanie's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.