We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, great company!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Whistle Brewery

Steam Whistle Brewery
The Roundhouse | 255 Bremner Blvd., Toronto, Ontario M5V 3M9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 362-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Steam Whistle Brewery like an insider
$34*
and up
Ranked #2 of 614 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great experience, great company!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I was worried that this was just another "major brewery" and would be compatable to coors or other american beers. Upon starting the tour we learned all about this awesome company and what makes it so awesome. From the way they take care of their employees, how they got started, and what goes into thier product, it's all awesome! Not to mention they brew an awesome pilsner. When i go back to toronto, im taking friends and we are going here. Awesome job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    234
    53
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a business guest from out of town who is a micro-brew aficionado and we both really enjoyed this tour. It was great to learn about the entire process and see how they fit all that production into such a compact space! I'd recommend this tour to anyone!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansburg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of our visit to Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stumbled upon this brewery tour when planning for things to do with my 82 yr old parents when we would be near Rogers Centre. What an excellent find! We booked a tour time online, and received a friendly email reminder. We were lucky to be able to park (1 hr limit) in a small lot directly behind the brewery. Though my dad has difficulty walking & with stairs, he was able to keep up with our group being led by a most enthusiastic & knowledgeable young lady. We learned so much, and of course the souvenir glasses and cold beer before, during and after the tour was a bonus. (Word of caution - do take the guide's warning about the sensitivity of the volume control on the receivers - it is VERY difficult for some people to adjust) It takes a lot to impress my dad, but as we were leaving he remarked that this company certainly doesn't skimp when dealing with its guests.
A special shout out to Nancy (aka Queen Mother III) in the Admin office for her advice on a great place to have dinner (Amsterdam Brew House just a short walk to the waterfront) and for her taking time to personally greet my parents and surprise them with a special gift for their 60th wedding anniversary. Can't say enough good things about the experience and this company. Great value for modest amt of money spent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun, exciting and cool information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I loved it, they explain everything from the start of the company to now. Great atmosphere, great people, and the guide i got was also very fun.

it is really cool to know how they make the beer, what they do with old beer,etc.

once you get in they will give you a small taste cup and once the tour starts they will give you a bottle of beer.

Cost:

10$ = you can leave with a souvenir mug or bottle opener
15$= you leave with a 6 pack of beer
25$ you leave with a 12 pack of beer

must see place when in toronto. It is only a 30+min tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best 10 bucks spent in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The visitor experience in Steam Whistle Brewery worth every cent you pay there. A nice and casual lounge pub in the entrance, a very sympathetic and knowledgeable guide (thanks Mike!), nice infrastructure and, of course, very nice beer. You will get a bottle before the tour starts and a half pint of draft beer at the end.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Whistle Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.