We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free samples!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Whistle Brewery

Steam Whistle Brewery
The Roundhouse | 255 Bremner Blvd., Toronto, Ontario M5V 3M9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 362-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$35*
and up
Ranked #15 of 278 Activities in Toronto
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Free samples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Situated south of CN Tower. Excellent railway displays & cars. Brewery gives out a free sample of their beer. Opens at noon.
Clean washrooms too. Historical photos on the walls.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    213
    46
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Must stop for travelers and locals alike. Free Steam Whistle beer, tour of beautiful reclaimed building and activer brewery. Everyone behind the bar was friendly and informative - Kendall was especially welcoming and interesting. We loved our visit!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Book early, show up early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A little disappointed...we showed up around 2pm and the tours for the day were completely sold out...the staff issued us return coupons and a sample so not a total loss...plan to come back soon as it looks like everyone we spoke to enjoyed it quite a bit..

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent beer tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

When we were there I think we paid about 8 dollars for the tour which included a couple of drinks I am not sure how many but it was certainly more than three an excellent couple of hours sampling some very nice beer.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So, You want to take a Tour...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Who gives what they say about the tour?!
A) You fake an interest in the scientific process of fermentation,and drink like, 3 complimentary glasses before the tour starts. You fake an interest in beer making, and the history of the 3rd shift, in which your great grandfather probably participated. You don't care, your father drank their beer... heck your grandfather drank their beer ... you're a "lost Canadian."... No, really, I am, look it up.
A) Your kids are under 12 years old...science trip!! They get to taste the aspects of fermentation and see the mechanical canning process. I would recommend not drinking too much before their "experiment" and then dragging them to a local bar and "comparing" the beer they saw being made to yours.
B) You're an actual history buff... OMG YOU KNEW THIS! Go get a drink, pretend you're learning something new until you can rebuff... Sober up in the CN tower, Kidsm won't notice.
C) You're a tourist, new to Toronto. Congratulations for reading this far. Go ahead, learn everything you can about the city. Can I suggest Dundas, Youngs... just walk. You'll find everything.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Whistle Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.