We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun tour and the beer is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Whistle Brewery

Steam Whistle Brewery
The Roundhouse | 255 Bremner Blvd., Toronto, Ontario M5V 3M9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 362-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$35*
and up
Ranked #17 of 275 Activities in Toronto
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
Balt, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun tour and the beer is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I traveled here with my wife 2 weeks ago and we loved it. All the employees are very friendly and helpful. They only make 1 kind of beer but it is really tasty. My wife who isn't a beer drinker even liked it. The tour itself was fun and informative which included samples throughout. I'd highly recommend this tour for the money, free beer, and souvenir glass or bottle opener. Also grab a six or twelve pack to go since take out beer is hard to find downtown.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    213
    46
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheapest and Awesome tour you'll find in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Honestly, everything in Toronto is expensive, so finding this place was a gem. Our tour guide was really funny and just a laid back worker who you can tell really likes his job. This place only serves one type of beer which was cool, and you get about 3-4 samples throughout the 30 minute tour. Great facts to learn about this place and how they do business. For $10, it was well worth to go to this place, and I also got a beer opener.
They take 15 people at a time per tour for every 30 minutes. Check out their site to see more info.
You can't go wrong with $10 and drinking while you're on a tour.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend, sister, and I went to Toronto for the first time last weekend and wanted to check out the brewery tour since it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we got into town a little late and didn't make it to the brewery until around 4:30ish. The last tours of the day were already sold out, but the employees were so incredibly friendly. Our sweet blonde bartender totally hooked us up with an exclusive mini-tour with one of the staff. The brewery itself was very impressive but even more impressive was the passion that its employees had for the company and the kindness that they all displayed. This was definitely more fun than the hours and hours of waiting in line at the CN Tower and highlight of our trip, thanks ladies!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, MA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“GREAT TASTING FUN , INFORMATIVE BREWERY TOUR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Arrive 30-45 minutes early , enjoy a free sample while waiting!
Tour lasted about 45 minutes, interesting and informative. We went on Sunday afternoon and the production line was closed, I'd recommend going during the week, to get full experience. Great tasting pilsner brew. Try it you'll like it. We gor the 6 pack tour $15.00 each includes a free 6 pack to take home!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice tour, definitely worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The brewery tour was rather quick, but interesting. And the beer is so tasty. I wish we could buy it in the States!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Whistle Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.