We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban chic in Ontario” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Toronto Breakfast Club
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Urban chic in Ontario”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Some of the recent reviews had me a little worried but we had a four day trip and really can't fault the place. The room, a King deluxe, was clean & spacious - wifi was included and was quick and reliable. We also had breakfast included - which was delicious and huge. Staff were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    135
    69
    53
    55
See reviews for
39
208
49
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Thompson is a unique experience. Every detail was well thought out. I was so pleased to find things that other hotels often overlook, such as a wine bottle opener. It started to rain just before I was to head out, and there was an umbrella to be found in the closet for my use! And it was nice to have a balcony off of my room, though because i was on the third floor, my view wasn't much to write home about... All this, plus heated marble floors in the gorgeously appointed washroom made my stay an experience to remember.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula D, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Erin B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to here that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the amenities offered in your guest room.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Paula Desjardins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The experience was great from the second we walked in. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, and the staff had left us chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling wine. (Special occasion). The bathroom was spotless, and proved to be one of the most luxurious showers I have ever experienced. The rooftop bar was the highlight of the evening and offered unparalleled views of down town. I would highly recommend the eggs benedict as well!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula D, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Aislinn F,

Such a pleasure to receive your review, we were so delighted to play a small part in ensuring that your special occasion was recognized in fashion!

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Warmest Regards,

Paula Desjardins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel within only a couple months. Last time I came with my kids, but this time it was just my partner and me. The Thompson is really more of an adult playground with a happening nightlife. We had a great time in the beautiful rooftop nightclub; the bartenders were very friendly, snapping photos for us and patiently finding just the right drink for my girlfriend. Our room had a uniquely modern design--logical--and it was extremely comfortable.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula D, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear chris007007ab,

Thank you so much for sharing your most recent experience at the Thompson Toronto Hotel.

Our bars team will be thrilled to hear your kind mention as well so thank you for sharing that with us.

We are very excited for the upcoming launch on our Rooftop bar and pool summer hours so you will have to join us again soon to check out what's new!

See you again soon,

Sincerely,

Paula Desjardins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Thompson Hotel is an elegant, unpretentious and very well planned hotel with impeccable attention to detail. The Thompson Hotel is definitely a beautiful hotel, from its inviting lobby with a great ambiance, to gorgeous marble heated floors in the bathroom. The staff at the Thompson Hotel is impeccable. They make you feel special at every interaction. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to my friends and family, as the staff is very attentive and accommodating to every request.

Room Tip: All the Front Desk agents are amazing, especially Aissia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the hotel were exceptional! Very kind and attentive. The room was crisp, clean and the bed very comfortable. We visited Colette restaurant and the rooftop and the food and beverage at both restaurants/ lounges was great!.

Would visit the hotel again and will recommend to family and friends!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived, we received great service! The room was spacious, chic and great for an individual or couple. The bathroom was clean with a spacious shower and large vanity. The bed was big and COMFORTABLE!!! Whenever we called room service, concierge, front desk, etc. the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

Hotel Bar/Club is a great atmosphere, and can accommodate both drinking and dancing.

I would highly recommend the Thompson Toronto for anyone looking for a quality room and service. The experience leaves you feeling like you weren't just a number but a true guest at the hotel.

P.S. For young professionals / couples in particular this is a great spot especially if you want to have a balance between a relaxing weekend/stay + the ability to mingle/party with people your age.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula D, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MrHeartAChe,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Thompson Toronto with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to your needs.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Paula Desjardins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.