We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful venue, fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Summer Getaways
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A beautiful venue, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Everything about this property oozes opulence and class. An oh-so-convenient downtown location, friendly staff and beautiful rooms. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are gorgeous, and the rooftop lounge has, undoubtedly, the most stunning view in the city. Drinks are a touch pricey but the atmosphere makes up for it. Thompson Diner in the lobby has phenomenal eggs benedict (available 24 hours a day - worth it).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear WeddingGirlDotCa,

We are thrilled that you like the hotel! We always aim to please and are so glad we succeeded in make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    154
    80
    59
    61
See reviews for
43
248
52
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'll start by saying I'm biased. I arrived at the Thompson in the midst of a fire alarm, so the elevators weren't working, which meant I received free drinks in the lounge until the elevators got going again. Which was nice. And then they gave me a giant upgrade to a room that goes for $2,500 a night. That room was very large and would have been amazing, but since I was there alone on business it was somewhat lost on me. In fact, having a giant suite is almost a little depressing when you're there on your own, but I wasn't going to turn it down. Overall a nice welcome and some very good service.

Apparently the rooftop bar and pool is a big draw for this hotel. The pool is tiny. And my Toronto based colleagues warned me of a DB clientelle that comes to the bar but I actually didn't see that. However, the lounge was closed. I was told that I could go up after 11 and it would be open until 2:00. Not really fitting my schedule. I did go up before then to check out the view, which was pretty spectacular, until I was asked to leave.

I don't understand why a hotel like this would charge a steep fee for WiFi access. This feels a little cheap on their behalf when they're charging several hundred for a room.

I found the electrical in the rooms poorly planned. Not able to turn out the lights from bed. And no outlets near the bed. Both standard things that I expect in the era of iPhones. It's these little things that separate the good from the great.

I ate dinner and breakfast at the Thompson Diner. Breakfast was very good. Dinner was terrible. So use your judgement. There are lots of other options around here.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade. No clue how to do that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jack_Shaw,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a good time at our hotel and as well to report that the hotel now offers complimentary WIFI for all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Warm regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is in a great neighbourhood, within walking distance to many bars and restaurants. Rooms are very nice with a modern décor and include iron, minibar, safe and free wifi. There was a small balcony, but it was a bit dirty with quite a few cigarette butts. There is a 24h diner that offers a good breakfast at reasonable price. The hotel has a nice rooftop bar and pool, as well as a bar in the lobby.

We liked the hotel but there were a few issues. First there was only one elevator working during our stay. Apparently one elevator broke and then the other one. As there was a wedding and because of all the traffic for the rooftop bar, this meant we often had to wait a long time for an elevator and unfortunately the stairs were not easily accessible. The other issue was because of the wedding reception, the rooftop bar and pool were closed from 4 to 9 pm on Saturday (other reviewers have also mentioned this problem). We were only informed of this when we tried to go for a drink, it would be nice if the hotel could put up a sign in the lobby.

Upon checkout when I informed the person at reception of all these issues, he welcomed our input and gave us a rebate on the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nathalie D,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have begun sharing our rooftop closures on our social media outlets as well as posting signage in our lobby. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I bid for a room on priceline not knowing what to expect... I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Thompson hotel. Everything about this hotel was so fancy! The bathroom floors were heated, the shower was beautiful, the lights were cool, the furniture was snazzy. I felt like a movie star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear sneezekoofer,

Everyone deserves to feel like a Movie Star! So glad this was your experience while visiting us.
We hope to have you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Thompson hotel prior to attending the ballet and found the service to be completely lacking. We sent a detailed review to the management company but receive absolutely no response.

Although the rooms are nice the service is so poor that we would never stay at the hotel again.

Our experience is as follows:
(a) Dressed formally for the ballet we arrived home after the show and proceeded towards the elevators, we were rudely stopped by a 20 something year old employee stating "where are you going?" Firstly, regardless of whether we were guests or not this is simply not an appropriate means of addressing anyone. We subsequently advised the young man that we were guests at the hotel.

Shortly thereafter attempted to go to the rooftop but were advised that, despite having evidence that we were guests and clearly over the age of 18, we needed to go downstairs and obtain a stamp validating our over 18 status. Despite the absurdity of this we proceeded downstairs and upon attempting to go into the elevators, having obtained our stamp, the same young man from earlier again rudely asked us where we were going.

(b) upon checking out, we had earlier ate at the diner and advised the server to add it to our hotel tab. We noticed that the diner had not added our tab to our hotel bill and advised the representative of such. She subsequently spent 45 minutes attempting to find our bill and to add it to our account. It was a bill of merely 20 dollars and yet we were forced to wait 45 minutes while the staff tried to correct their own oversight.

Overall, this is simply the worst hotel experience we have ever had and we will not be staying at this hotel ever again. The staff seem more interested in the loud 20 something year old crowd and are completely devoid of proper etiquette training.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear S b,

Thank you for your feedback, please accept our apologies if the service you received was anything less than exceptional. We are constantly looking into ways to improve our service and hope you will return to enjoy the progress that we have made.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I think I can see why this place has mixed reviews.
In my opinion it's better as a business hotel.

Smart, modern, nice rooms. Really liked the hotel.Great location for being central and walking around.
Roof bar is also pretty slick, great views. Does seem to be a certain type of clientele though.
Seems more like it's the show piece rather than a real guests pool for relaxing.

Couple of annoyances -
1. One of the lift's was out of service so sometimes an epic wait.
2. The underground parking system really sucks. If you need a specific amount of time beyond that of the set times, you have to pay for a full 24hrs (something silly like that). In the end I had to pay $30 CAD per day. I think it's a private car park so the hotel's not responsible but either way it's crap.

Overall I liked the hotel and I would definitely consider staying again for business.
For a holiday... not sure.... maybe a night or two...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear InVinoVeritasEtAmor,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the longer than usual elevator wait time you experienced but we are happy to report that the elevators have now been fixed and are fully functional. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us soon!

Warm regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude to The Thomson Hotel Toronto on their exceptional service for a clients recent Wedding on June 14 2014.

Being a wedding industry professional I have had the pleasure of working with some of the best in the industry and your staff is at the top of my list. Working along side the team at The Thompson was truly a breath of fresh air and was an honour to work along side them on the day-of.

Leading up to the day of the wedding the service that was received from Nick & Louisa was outstanding. Not only are they two of the most accessible and corporative individuals their love for weddings and personalities are magnificent. Your response time on the million questions I had was unbelievable.

On the day of the wedding Stephen & Matthew were truly incredible. These two were able to assist with anything and everything asked and really made the evening come together flawlessly. Knowing that staff cares so much about all the little details as I do really warms my heart.

The rooms & view that the hotel has to offer is one of the best and I highly recommend anyone travelling to Toronto to book your accommodations here.

I would recommend every Bride & Groom to get married at The Thompson Hotel Toronto as their service and staff is second to none.

Thank you Nick, Louisa, Stephen, Matthew and to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Michelle K,

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that your clients thoroughly enjoyed their special day! We love hosting weddings and sharing such an important time with our guests. We look forward to working with you again soon to create more memorable moments.

Warm regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#15 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
West End
Gladstone Hotel
Gladstone Hotel
#24 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#4 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#14 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.