We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Comfortable, Not Well Known” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Girls Overnight
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Spacious, Comfortable, Not Well Known”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently attended a business seminar hosted at the Thompson - a hotel I'd never heard of in Toronto. I had a little difficulty finding it (in the Fashion District) but once there was glad I did. Staff is delightful - from the doorman, to the desk clerk, to wait staff - everyone of them helpful, courteous and welcoming. The room was quite spacious with a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was large, modern and well appointed. I would certainly stay here again ... without hesitation!

My seminar dealt with issues in Long Term Care. I mention this because while a great hotel in general, the lighting is low throughout the hotel. Meeting rooms on the lower level are without windows and use lots of mirrors - all of these are challenging for the elderly and any of us with aging eyes. Light switches and labels in the rooms have very small print so managing the lighting can take trial and error. These are not big issues but worth mentioning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street can be a little noisy so if you're not an urbanite then ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Douglas B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always enjoy hearing from our guests. Your feedback is very encouraging for our staff who pride themselves on our warm and welcoming service and hospitality.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Best,
Theo Kolovos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    137
    69
    55
    56
See reviews for
40
212
49
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I booked this hotel using Priceline so I did not choose it on my own. Quite honestly, I did not even know there was a Thompson Hotel in Toronto. I was pleasantly surprised. After reading several negative reviews I was not expecting a good experience.

This hotel is slightly west of the downtown core and south of the trendy Queen Street West area. There are plenty of restaurants at all price points in the neighbourhood as well as decent shopping along King Street. Even with all of that - this hotel still seemed out of place to me. That is why I gave it a rating of 4 overall instead of a 5. I suspect if I was not familiar with Toronto I would have had a different perspective.

The hotel itself was unique. I would call it a boutique hotel. I felt like I was walking into a nightclub when I arrived just after 6 pm. The lobby is dimly with a vibrant bar off to the side. Check in was efficient. The hotel room itself was spotless and had a distinct European feel to it.

The view from the top floor bar is spectacular - definitely worth a look even if you are not stopping in for a drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear TravelGirl181747

Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will return very soon!

Kind Regards,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were in Toronto for a 3 day weekend and decided to stay at the Thompson Hotel on a recommendation from a friend. We had a fantastic experience! Family of four with 2 young girls, the Thompson is not a typical family hotel but the staff made us feel welcome and they went out of their way to provide us with entertainment otions, advice and activities pertinent to my family's needs. We got great recommendations for restaurants close by, there is a park for kids to play and the rooftop pool and patio is breathtaking. If you are looking for an upscale place to kick off your shoes and where you can forget the stress of the week, I highly recommend the Thompson Hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Card9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy the amenities of the Hotel as well as what is offered in our vibrant King West location.

Delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable and welcome.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I must admit , we were somewhat reluctant to stay here after reading some pretty poor reviews, however, our experience with the staff and our enjoyment of all the facilities that this hotel has to offer (including a wickedly beautiful and full function health club) was nothing short of stellar.
We enjoyed our brief retreat in this magnificent hotel and very much look forward to our next visit. All the staff were warm and welcoming...special shout out to Sarah at the front desk, a gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DougandTheresa,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind acknowledgment of our warm and welcoming staff, particularly Sarah who was honored to hear your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Thompson Toronto very soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was here with a couple of girlfriends at the end of September to celebrate a birthday and we had a fantastic time. When we realized that we didnt want to go out and just wanted to order in and hang out, Ian our In Room Dining server ensured that we had everything we needed. We loved Ian! talk about a gentleman who truly enjoys what he does. Thank you again Thompson for a birthday to remember!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ontran,

Thank you for sharing your special day with us, I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Thompson Toronto. I look forward to sharing your comments with Ian.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here after a "Priceline Auction". Despite obviously seeing what we paid for our room on our reservation sheet there was not so much as a blink of an eye. I cannot fault the Reception Staff. Very friendly and helpful. As has been said before the lighting is minimal in the lobby area and lifts. I would class my husband and I as being a lot " maturer" than there normal clientele and felt treated accordingly. I asked about wifi and decided for a one night stay it was not worth it, especially as we had arrived early evening. I casually asked if it could be included and the young lady said she would ask the manager and call us. OK I thought!! Well by the time we had returned to our room after supper there was a card under the door giving us free access to the wifi. What a bonus. The room was very spacious and we were on the eighth floor with a view of the CN Tower. Regrettably there is a night club in the hotel and between one and three o'clock in the morning, there was a lot of noise from the departing clubbers. We mentioned this on check out and were told they are " working on a solution"!!
One thing I have to mention is the approachability of the doormen and concierge. They all certainly know the area well.
Oh yes, you have to ask for a kettle in your room if, like us, you like an early morning cuppa!!
Would stay there again .

Room Tip: The higher floors would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Joy W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and do all that we can to ensure each of our guests feel comfortable and welcome, I know that our staff will be pleased to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Warm Regards,

Theo Kolovos,
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I typically stay at the Westin Harbour when I am in town, but everything was booked and the only reasonable price or place to stay was the Thompson. I was excited because I knew it was trendy as I had eaten at Scarpetta before (EXCELLENT).

I check in and told I get upgraded to Penthouse...I think, whatever...just a bigger room. WELL...it was a Penthouse. Meeting/Dining area with table for 8, game room with TV on wall, pool table, wet bar and mini keg system (have to buy the keg), living room with lots of seating, huge tv, HUGE marble bathroom with soaking tub, standup shower with steamer, heated floors. Bedroom was fine, big comfortable bed and another tv. Large floor to ceiling windows throughout, lots of space, hardwood floors, a powder room by bar...full kitchen...the place was bigger than a lot of apartments I have lived in!

So obviously my review is bias...but it is a really cool hotel. The only drawback, the hotel rooftop bar...can you guys take yourselves any more seriously?? They treat it like it is an exclusive club and it is only ok. I came back and was hassled by the front desk, questioning me if I was staying there, not believing what room I was in, not believing the color keys I had...only to go up there and there are 5 people. Get over it.

I would stay again if I got the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Dumpty27,

We are always delighted to hear from our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your complementary upgrade to our Penthouse Suite!

Thank you for your comments with regards to your experience on our Rooftop. I will share this feedback with our team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.