We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EASE INTO FALL
Ranked #44 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights, August 22nd and 23rd. Check in was fast, had a note and chocolates waiting for us in the room from the hotel manager which set the tone for great service. Unfortunately that is where it ended. Beautiful hotel, the decor is ultra modern and fun. Rooms are average in size. We were on the 9th floor and had a balcony. We went up to the roof top pool, small but clean and very crowded. No room to walk with people laying on the ground because the loungers were taken. Also went up to the roof top for drinks, nice view.

There are certain details that make this hotel average and cheap
1/ coffee service in the lobby ends at 9am. this would be fine if you had coffee in the room but you don't
2/ no chairs on the balcony so you can't enjoy the balcony, had to wheel the desk chair out and only one person could sit out there
3/ only two bath towels, had to call housekeeping for more
4/ ran out of toilet paper and kleenex
5/ breakfast that is included is continental, why bother. There was even confusion about that among the servers at the Thompson Diner.
6/ tv cables not working well, had to fiddle with it
7/ internet is not included with the room

The only place we received incredible service was at the restaurant Scarpetta. We would highly recommend this culinary experience. Service and food where incredible. They made the stay worthwhile. Check in staff was indifferent, bar/service staff was also mediocre at best. Outside of Scarpetta, no one made you feel like they were happy to see you.

I am glad we went to see the place, one night would have been enough.

Room Tip: 9th floor with the balcony was great, could see the city but they need to get outside chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Chillview,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Scarpetta while I regret that your experience with our staff was not equally as enjoyable.

We are making some changes within the Hotel which will address a number of your concerns, please stay turned as I am sure that you will be pleased with our improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    109
    59
    49
    52
See reviews for
35
148
41
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We left items in the safe and asked Management if they could retrieve them. Without missing a breath, we were assured that housekeeping checks the safe when cleaning the room, and a manager checks behind them, and no item was recovered from the room. We know without ny doubt that we left items in the safe....I agree we should have triple check! But, I assumed... We were staying in a reputable, sophisticated establishment, and that honesty was their virtue. Well, it was not and my cherished item was Stolen, right out of the Secured safe...right. Management gave me a managers card... Not sure for what reason. I ill be faxing a bill for the items stolen / left in the safe. Be forewarned, and be careful, triple check...Management did not think this was an issue or warrant ny follow up... This was truly a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Check in early for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Storminfoxridge,

Thank you for sharing with us.

I can assure you any such incident would be taken very seriously by both our Staff and Management team. Please contact me directly so that we may discuss the particulars of this review. I look forward to hearing from you,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Thompson when I was in town for a friend's wedding. I loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and the linens were dreamy. Breakfast was delivered to our room quickly and was perfect both days. The bars were fun, too. And great views from the rooftop pool.
It's not cheap, that's for sure, but totally worth it, as it's truly top notch and what I expect to pay for a nice hotel. My only complaint - I wish that the price of the room included wifi (even if it was $15 more), as opposed to charging an extra $15 for it, but eh, I'd totally go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear toaster724,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Please note on your next visit we do offer Complimentary Wifi for Hotel Guests in the Lobby Lounge and bar.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a Toronto stay, through a secondary booking website, for what we thought was a pretty good deal until we arrived and learned of all the add-ons:

-$38 per day for valet parking (and let's add-in that you're expected to tip with valet service). There wasn't really another available option. We were also told that it was 'secured' so we couldn't just go down to get anything out of our car, we'd have to have the valet bring it around (with 15 minutes advance notice) every time we needed our car. So, we did a lot of walking.

-Internet was extra. Don't you hate that? It doesn't cost the hotel much for internet. Heck, why not go Wifi?

-Did you know that doubles are extra at the Thompson? My husband prefers to sleep on the floor so it's usually no big deal if we are given a king room EXCEPT we called down for an extra blanket and was told, "we don't have extra blankets available." What type of hotel has no extra blankets? My husband said, "what about a cot, then?" "We don't have cots". What we were offered is to pay extra for the double room. Being somewhat in a bind, we paid it. It wasn't really bigger, maybe a smidge.

-No in-room coffee. Go down to the lobby or order it room service from the very over-priced and not good "diner" in the hotel. (If you're going to go downstairs anyway, there's a Second Cup at King & Bathrhurst and a Tim Horton's just a little West on King from Bathhurst).

On top of these add-on costs:

-the rooms may be "modern" in decor but they're actually pretty cheaply furnished. The wood is all cheap veneer which is already badly chipped an scarred.
-the floors are cheap laminate
-the mattresses are very soft
-the open shower is pretty but it means water on the floor *everywhere* and you only get one of those cheap hotel towel bath mats
-they give you only 2 towels
-the rooftop pool is the highlight of the hotel. It gives a stunning view of the Toronto skyline BUT it closes at 7pm so that the rooftop bar can become a nightclub.

Bottom line, this hotel caters to 20-somethings who want to pretend to be Paris Hilton & the hotel had plenty of these types of guests parading around the pool in skimpy bikinis, and strutting through the lobby in "Jersey Shore" chic. The hotel also seems to only employ attractive 20-somethings as well who were competent and polite, but clearly send a message about who this hotel wants to attract (and doesn't). It's not family-friendly and, clearly, it does not want to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear PTwife,

Thank you for your review. We always enjoy hearing from our guests.

I can appreciate your comments with regards to our property being one which tends to appeal to Adults rather than children.

We are a luxury life style hotel with many of our amenities focused towards adults.

Our Thompson Diner is however quite popular with young children. We have fabulous ice cream Sundays which people of all ages rave about.

We offer Overnight Valet Parking at a rate of $38 plus tax with full in and out privileges, which is very competitive in the City of Toronto.

We do find that our guests tend to prefer our 100% pure down duvets which we use in place of blankets; we can provide additional duvets when guests request and do have blankets for guests who may have sensitivities. Please accept my sincerest apologies if this was not expressed to you upon your inquiry.

Our guest room floors feature wall to wall solid white oak, a feature which most of our guests truly appreciate.

We always enjoy meeting the requests of our guests and exceeding their expectations, If you have an occasion to return to our Hotel please connect with me directly,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My son and his lovely new wife were married and entertained about 100 guests on the rooftop last weekend. It was an absolutely beautiful event. Our guests raved about the night. The staff were excellent in every way. From arrival to departure the following day, we could not have been treated any better. Bell boys, check in personnel, room service, roof top security, bar tenders, set up staff, food servers and all others were perfectly professional, helpful and polite. They all defined "service". It was clear everyone takes pride in their roles and we congratulate Thompson for providing a First Class venue for our memorable event. Thank you all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Cled,

Thank you so much for sharing with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, your kind recognition has been very well received by our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while on business and my family came along. The hotel is for the up and coming "hipster" crowd who want chic and swanky. No business center, no free Wi-Fi, No ice machine - you have to order ice through room service? Bed and linens were fine room was ok nothing fancy. Door was warped and so it stuck every time you entered or left - made a racket to wake the dead. the pool is roof top (amazing view) but small and in the middle of a bar that had frequent special functions making the pool inaccessible. Valet parking is $40.00 per night so factor that into the bill. My wife did not like the glass wall shower as you can see a silhouette. Free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning but no coffee maker in the room. It is in the King West area with lots of good restaurants but a bit of a hike to the Eaton center and the Young street attractions $12.00 cab ride one way.

I doubt I would stay here again although it was not a bad stay or hotel it was just not my style.

Room Tip: go high the view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Curioustravelor,

We always enjoy hearing from our guests, I can appreciate your feedback and I would like to thank you for sharing with us.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel offers everything you need under one roof, and a staff that caters to your every need. The rooms are magnificent - esp. the king suites with balconies. The rooftop infinity pool and bar are like nothing else in Toronto, and offer daytime and nighttime experiences that are as different as they are amazing. The staff are warm and friendly, from check-in to concierge to the rooftop and restaurant staff. Personalized service doesn't describe it. On-site spa, several bars, stocked mini bars in the room, several restaurants and 24 hour room service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Jonny tt,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I know our team will be thrilled to read your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!

Kind Regards,

Theo Kolovos,
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson’s first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city’s financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto’s cityscape. The hotel’s three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, upscale Italian cuisine at Scarpetta, by renowned chef Scott Conant, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, a yoga studio, and Toronto’s first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.