We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, great decor, good choice of food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Girls Overnight
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great service, great decor, good choice of food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thompson may be a little distance from the downtown core, but the Streetcar is only one block away, and runs every few minutes.
Decor and ambiance very good. Staff friendly and helpful.
Rooms reasonably spacious, beds very comfortable.
24 hour restaurant on site, Bar stays open late, Bar food really good.
Cons - parking expensive, but why bring your car to a city ?
Internet charged daily - this is always an annoying extra, who doesn't use Internet these days ?
I always check Hotel sites for internet rates, it does make a difference to the bottom line !
Would recommend this Hotel, but compare rates to other Downtown accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear allizbal,

We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient for you. We are a short distance away from the downtown core and in and amongst some really fantastic restaurants, which I hope that you had a chance to enjoy on your visit with us as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon,

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    138
    69
    55
    56
See reviews for
40
212
49
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
527 helpful votes 527 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Thompson Hotel is in the western part of central Toronto, a very long walk from downtown but close to the film industry part of the city. My family and I booked two rooms for the night at short notice. The first impression is a bit off putting, given that when you walk through the door you're greeted by loud music booming through the reception. From then on the experience improves markedly. The rooms are large and well built and feature comfortable beds. The bathroom has heated floors but neither of our rooms had bathtubs. At night the noise levels were low and I slept well, although I wonder how quiet the place would be in the summer. The hotel shares a building with a large number of apartments whose balconies are pretty close to many of the rooms. If people decided to party outside at night in the summer I can see the noise levels rising very quickly. We were there in winter and had no such problems. The diner served a good breakfast and the valet parking, as promised, delivered the car inside 10 minutes.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room overlooking Bathurst Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Faience44,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

We hope that you and your family will return to see us soon, perhaps in the summer, when our pool is open to enjoy the indomitable views of the city from our Rooftop Infinity Pool.

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

having stayed at the Thompson earlier in the year on business - i visited Toronto with my wife for a city break - and booked the Thompson. The room was perfect - my wife loved it - and i have to say the service from the front desk, roof top bar and diner - were all without fault. I would never have guessed there was anyone else staying on our floor - although we were there over the weekend that the NFL came to town - so i know the hotel was very busy. I commented last time that the beds were super comfortable - and it wasn't a jet lagged illusion - they really are excellent. The location is great for exploring downtown - without actually being in the centre - and there are many bars and good restaurants within walking distance. We walked back from chinatown in under 20 minutes. I hope to return to Toronto for business a couple of times in 2013 - and already know where i'll be staying. This really is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: i've had rooms on the west and northern corner - and both have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear grove1

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the vibrant the King West area during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel! On your next visit please share your preferences with us, we keep profiles for all of our regular guests so that we know what their preferences are for future stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thompson Hotel Toronto is a perfect hotel and location for seeing Toronto. The rooms are quite nice and decent size. The lobby bar is the place to be. My favorite was the Diner though. Open 24hr which comes in handy after visting the bars and nightclubs in the area.
We requested a high floor, and the request was met with a great view. Only draw back was there was construction on the floor above starting at 9am in the morning. They should have had a better way to sort this out. It only happend one morning out of three, but it bares mentioning.
In all quality hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Ask about any construction in the area of your room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear G M,

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 24HR diner and the view from your room.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!!

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first stay at a Thompson property. The first thing we noticed was that there are a couple of restaurants on the premises that appeared upscale, busy, and catered to a bustling and noisy clientele. The hotel was very modern and appeared to service an active and younger crowd. There was some noise around the check-in area due to proximity to the restaurants, but none noticable on our 5th floor room. I had to return to get something from the car parked in the basement, and on returning, my passkey would not work. A call to the front desk resulted in a quick response of someone bringing newly re-keyed cards directly to our room. All was good until we were woken up about mid-night - and almost constant noise in the hallway for the next 2 hours. I don't ever recall such an experience. It seemed like the walls were paper thin. All in all, a nice facility, but sleep was a priority in the evening before a busy day, and that objective was not achieved as I would have hoped. For this reason alone, I would not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Quill007,

Thank you for sharing with us. While I am glad that you were pleased with the service of the Hotel, I do sincerely apologize that you were not able to achieve a restful sleep while visiting us.

We would love to have you return to stay with us, I would like the opportunity to speak with you with regards to your stay.

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

spend a very good time! nice, clean, friendly and also with nice guest around the clubs, italian foods, japanese food and like old burger pub! the rooms are so comfortabe and very big
not to far from the main street, like 10 min by walk and the area is very ok, you have some pubs around the hotel but you can spend a great time at the bar inside.....

is not possible to say more, because if you are looking for a great place in toronto, you have to go at the thompson hotel

that's all falks!
alex

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear alelove3,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us. We would love to have you come back and join us for our Wednesday Nights in the Lobby at 8PM, DJ DLUX & David Matisse!! Let us help you make it past Wednesday Hump Day.

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall it's a nice hotel - very friendly staff at the front desk but the service in the diner is so slow and my west coast omelette was very salty - even for someone who loves smoked salmon & capers.

The main complaint about the room is that they don't have in room coffee or tea. My room never has an alarm clock.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Keri-Anne M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to be able to offer custom made espresso based coffee as well as drip coffee 24 hours a day for our guests.

All of our standard guest rooms and Premium rooms offer a state of the art IPOD dock which has the option to set an alarm. In addition our Front Desk Agents are at your service for personalized wake up calls at any time of the day or night.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can experience all the features that The Thompson has to offer.

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.