We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Thompson and was impressed with the service and accommodations. The front desk staff were professional helpful and polite. The room was amazing modern comfortable and the bathroom was outstanding. One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Hol0126,

Delighted to hear your comments, thank you for sharing with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    119
    64
    50
    55
See reviews for
37
176
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was hands down the best place I ever stayed at. Everybody from the doorman to the bar staff made this one unforgettable experience. The two bars are very upper class. even wearing a sport blazer and tie I felt underdressed. I only spent one night at this place but really wish I had the time to spend three. Toronto is a beautiful and city and this hotel is a perfect fit for it. It is a upper class stay and requires some class to be at. Would not spend a weekend here as a family with kids. A great couples stay or buisness class stay.

Room Tip: It doesn’t matter what room you get they are all excellent. Although with the rooftop bar and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Benefits G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Perhaps you could return with your children to visit us in The Thompson Diner for our classic chocolate milk shake, always a big hit with the kids!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property,

Kind Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Thompson for two nights despite reading some negative reviews on tripadvisor. My expectations were exceeded in almost every aspect of the hotel. The front desk and concierge were very helpful, notably Sara and Samantha. Both ladies did their jobs very well from assisting me with directions or dining options to providing me any additional amenities I required. They were a welcoming sight throughout my stay always with a smile on their faces. The rooftop was closed one night but I did get to enjoy it the second night and the service was impeccable. The only downside was that room service took slightly longer than anticipated but the server was pleasant and apologetic. I recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Andrew_w_Murphy,

I am delighted to hear from you and will be sure to pass on your comments directly to our staff. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Kind Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we booked two rooms at the Thompson we stated our bed preferences. I called again a few days before our arrival and was assured that my profile reflected our preferences and would be provided. Upon check in, two young girls trying to act pretentiously insisted that the hotel was completely sold out and could not provide us with the rooms we reserved. These girls still require much training in customer service. The lobby was very empty throughout our stay. While the rooms are spacious, they are nothing special. Definitely not anything like a W both in quality of the rooms and especially the service. (The shower wasn’t see through either.) There wasn’t a coffee maker or clock radio in the room. They were miserly with towels. We were surprised at the hazard in the shower. A glass shelf protrudes about chin level at the entrance to the shower. The washroom was not very clean. The beds weren’t great, poor support. The rooms were not very sound proof. If you do go to this hotel, park at the green P across the park for a fraction of the $45/night cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Snowf1ake,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

At the time of booking we do reserve specific room types and send a confirmation with the particulars of the booking. Please connect with me directly and I will look into the particulars of your reservation.

While standard rooms do not feature coffee machines we do offer 24 hour room service for drip coffee as well as espresso based coffee. All of our guest rooms have a bedside table clock/ipod dock so that you are able to listen to the music of your choice.

It is unfortunate that you did not find our Serta Perfect Sleeper, platinum collection mattresses, to your satisfaction.

The walls in the shower are indeed frosted glass to offer some privacy and the shelf sits at 4’6”. Our rooms exceed industry safely standards.

Your comments with regards to customer service are not a representation of the service which our staff prides themselves upon.

I invite you to speak with me to discuss your experience at our property.

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just stayed in the Thompson for a couple of nights on a work trip and was very happy. My room was spacious and comfortable, lots of light, and great for working in - desk had plenty of space and the wifi was excellent - if pricey. The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous at all times - telling me the best places to watch the football for one thing - and couldn't have been kinder. I only ate at the pool bar, but the food was great. Didn't have a chance to check out the Diner unfortunately. Breakfast looked amazing. And the staff around the rooftop bar were amazing when it got a little chilly, lighting the heaters and bringing blankets - so nice.

My only criticism was that my room didn't get made up in the two days I was there. Someone had clearly been into my room, as the mini-bar was re-stocked, but my bed wasn't made or the room made up. This was a little disappointing. Also, there were no extra blankets or anything in my room, which I needed at 2am.

But overall, a lovely hotel, great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Steve N,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Our guests are very important to us and we truly appreciate your comments. Our guest rooms are serviced daily, I will share your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and ensure this does not happen again.

I will also be sure to pass on your comments to our staff, we always enjoy hearing positive feedback from our guests.

We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon!

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was at this hotel as a guest of a wedding this past weekend and I must say after many years of staying at luxery hotels, this may top my list. From the moment we were greeted, the staff we accommodating and polite and extrememly efficient, they make ever guest feel as though they are the most important priority. The food was amazing and I can not say more about the vibe of the hotel.

The stay itself was wonderful, the beds were so comfortable and the room was clean and inviting.

I recommend this hotel and the restaurants and bars on site. would never have a second though about recommending this hotel to anyone visiting this city looking for the right mix of upscale environment with the comforts of home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear PepperBB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are most delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Thompson Toronto is similar to Starwood's W concept, but done better. My room was spacious, with lots of light and all of the amenities you would expect including radiant bathroom floors (something important for the Canadian winters). The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear UrbanVenturer,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at our property, we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.