We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, but needs somewhere for soaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Days,TorontoNights
Ranked #61 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun, but needs somewhere for soaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were placed at this hotel through a discount hotel website and got a really great price. (This may be important so you know what kind of point of view we are coming from - we aren't business professionals). Very stylish hotel, felt underdressed just checking in. But once you get into your own room safe and sound, it's a fun place to stay. Rooms were immaculate, very sleek with lots of neat features. Note - no bathtub, and there was not hot tub or pool either (rooftop pool isn't open in the winter), so if you were hoping to immerse yourself in water, you are out of luck. There is parking in the neighborhood - right across the street the lot was $10 during the week and $15 on the weekend, so no need to pay for their $35 parking (unless you don't trust leaving your car out overnight, but the neighborhood felt safe). If there are events in the area I was told the prices of these lots might change though. Our room was by the elevator so it was a bit noisy, but the bed was SOOO comfortable and I slept great. Gym is pretty awesome, lots of equipment, there's also a yoga studio there (but it's almost $20 a class...)
Rooftop bar is pretty swanky, if you are bringing friends though they recommend you make a reservation and get bottle service so you have somewhere to sit... views were great but we all ended up just going down to one of the pubs on the corner where beers are $5 and things felt a bit more real.
No ice machines on the floors but if you call down they'll bring you ice up right away - service was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear skobies,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us; we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel design, accommodations and service. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to serving you again upon your next visit to Toronto.

Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    104
    59
    48
    53
See reviews for
34
134
40
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

we ate in the resturaunt [I tried to write it but you never heard of it] The place was packed and for good reason the food was excellent the staff very good they know their business the
recommendations were dead on even the wine which was priced well was great
the last page on the menus is all for vegetarians the bar was also full and a great lobby to sit and talk

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear charles073,
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re happy to know that you found the food and the staff excellent; we will pass on your kind words to our superb staff and chefs. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to serving you again upon your next visit.

Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I booked a room here for the IDS 2012. I'm so glad we did. The front desk entrance, lounge, roof top lounge were all fantastic and left quite an impression. Our room was beautiful and minimal just like home. The only drawback was that we were directly in front of the elevator (a bit loud really) and found it was a wheelchair accessible room (a bit less romantic). We didn't bother changing it though. The beds are heavenly, really. One thing I can't stand is having to pay for internet. Come on! Really? For $15 a day and not spending that much time in the room - we didn't bother.

The room service staff were all amazing, friendly and quick. Within minutes literally we had fresh towels, drinks, room service (eggs benefict, muffins, coffee - all delicious).

We would stay here again in a heart beat. It's a walk to Queen St. shopping but on a nice day it's perfect. Right outside our window on Wellington was a busy dog park which was highly entertaining on a quiet Sunday morning and the hotel is a very short cab ride to Billy Bishop airport if you're flying Porter.

Do book a table at Scarpetta restaurant well in advance for it's more than famous Spaghetti with Basil but make sure to start off with a drink at the Lobby Lounge first. Those complimentary bar chips are delicious with one of their Bloody Ceasars.

Have fun, it's Thompson!

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear clubview,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Thompson Toronto. Our dedicated staff love making all our guests feel welcome, and they will be grateful to know how much you appreciated their efforts. Also, we’re glad you had an exceptional time at our hotel . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to see you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

As a frequent traveler, my stay at the Thompson Toronto was nothing but positive.

The hotel's valet and front desk staff were friendly and professional (extra points to Josh). My king superior room was clean, well-maintained and spacious, and I loved the modern - yet warm and cozy - decor (which is found throughout the property). I also appreciated the extra touches such as the heated floor in the bathroom and the lighting controls next to the bed.

The comments regarding the great views from the rooftop are not exaggerations. In addition, for travelers seeking a quality fitness center, the Thompson Toronto's 24-hour facility delivers the goods - it's large and the equipment is state-of-the-art.

My experience with the restaurants, Scarpetta and Thompson Diner, were limited but I did find the sleek designs appealing.

It is true that the downstairs and rooftop bars are popular, and they can get loud and crowded; however, I did not encounter any noise issues in my room.

I hope I have the opportunity to return to this property when the weather is warmer and I am able to fully enjoy the rooftop lounge and infinity pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the six floor and above are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear tdpndc,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, we love hearing from our guests.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, hotel décor, design, our restaurants, fitness center and the rooftop view. It was our pleasure to serve you and we’re pleased to know you had a great time with us. We value your continued patronage, and we look forward to serving you again upon your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Have now done a second and final attempt at the Thompson Hotel in Toronto. Both stays have been for business and it is clearly not a business hotel. As many other reviews have indicated the hotel is very loud and the service is, at best, ambivalent.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one. Most floors can be very loud with party people at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear KGBRover,
We regret to hear that your experience was anything less than exceptional, yet we thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will take your comments into serious consideration as we continually strive to improve.

Again thank you for your time and for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed over on a Monday night for a mini staycation. I noticed a light scent of stale smoke, but I ignored it. I figured it was just me, since Ontario had passed that "no smoking indoors" law a few years back. The rooms were clean and comfortable, I particularly liked the touch-activated light switches, and the heated floor in the bathroom was my favourite. Great until the people next door came back. It sounded like a good 6 people (all drunk) were packed into one room all trying to talk over one another. Several minutes later, it became obvious where the smoke smell had come from, as kids next door were clearly smoking pot and the fumes were wafting from under the door. A call down to the front desk did get the kids to quiet down a bit, but the marijuana smoke was a lost cause.

We live in the city, so the location was not a big deal to us, but for those from out of town, the hotel is located in a gentrifying area, and in my personal opinion, quite a (walking) distance from anything of note. I would prefer to stay somewhere more central, and better lit at night if I wasn't familiar with the area.

Room Tip: I suppose a room away from the stairwells would help, as people seem to like taking the stairs at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear ki_le2,
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding the Thompson Toronto’s room and happy you liked the heated floor in the washroom- we’re glad you enjoyed these aspects of our hotel. We regret, however, to hear that you experienced that inconvenient situation; we assure you that what you experienced is not the standard at Thompson Toronto or among any Thompson property.

Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I can't believe that in the time since my last visit the Thompson has actually gotten worse, despite the amount of negative reviews they've received - I really can't believe nothing has been taken into account.

I did stay elsewhere in the city, since the experience was so bad the first time. However we did visit the hotel for it's lobby bar -> Couldn't get in because the lineup of Jersey Shore wannabes (amazing that people want to behave in such fashion) was extensive & we were informed by the rude beefy security guard that we probably wouldn't be able to get in before last call (it was 11)

A few days later we returned to visit The Counter, which I learned has changed names to The Thompson Diner. It seems the food quality has gone down, while the prices have gone up: Orange juice + pancakes for two rendered a near $60 bill - the orange juice was from concentrate while the pancakes were dry & tasteless, had NO sides (for $17 you would expect some bacon) & didn't even have a handful of fruit in them (banana pancakes were more like a hunt for banana in a whopping pile of cheap flour)

Again, I am extremely disappointed in the quality of this hotel, considering the high caliber of service the American locations provide. The Canadian management clearly doesn't know much about customer service.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about the faucets - it seems many of the faucets in the room have come off & we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear margot t,
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We regret that your visit was anything less than exceptional and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. Yet, we appreciate and value your feedback and will use your concerns constructively to improve our overall guest experience.

In hopes to remedy your stay, we eagerly invite you to contact us so that we may address the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. Please send a message to ThompsonHotels, or contact the hotel directly by phone or email.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson’s first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city’s financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto’s cityscape. The hotel’s three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, upscale Italian cuisine at Scarpetta, by renowned chef Scott Conant, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, a yoga studio, and Toronto’s first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.