We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Carlingview Drive, Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were originally given a room on the 5th floor, but asked for something lower due to reviews that complained of airplane noise on the top floor. We were reassigned to the 2nd floor with no problem. While some faint noise was audible, it was so short of a time that it was not very significant.

The hotel is very clean, modern and the staff were superb. There is hardwood in the rooms and the absence of carpeting was greatly appreciated. However, the extra $10 charge for parking was unexpected since I have never been charged for overnight parking in the Toronto Airport area. The $12 Breakfast buffet was good, but slightly overpriced. The restaurant menu was varied and prices were slightly on the high side but the quantity made up for it.

All in all, it was a very nice stay and, if the price is right, I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 5th floor because of the noise from landing aircraft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    131
    67
    41
    19
See reviews for
39
105
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
drgmobile
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for a quick overnight trip. The hotel appeared to be new or newly renovated. The rooms were kitschy but nicely designed comfortable and well appointed for the price.

The biggest downside is the location. We took the free shuttle bus from the airport, which brought us to the hotel quickly enough. While the hotel is near enough to the airport, it is in a business park and there isn't really much of anything around that you can walk to. We had to take a cab (only $6) to get to the Lone Star Grill or The Keg.

After dinner we set out for a night cap in the resto/bar, which has no atmosphere. It is decorated a bit like somebody's basement but more interestingly there was no notable music or TV to speak of. There was one staff member who appeared to be working and even though she saw us, she spent about 5-7 minutes setting tables in the restaurant before coming to serve us.

Sleep quality was good but one thing I noted was that the bed seems to have a traditional hotel bed spread on it. You don't see those very often anymore.

I briefly visited the fitness center, which consisted of three cardio machines and a cable weights machine. The basement level was not air conditioned and it was quite hot in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Hotel indigo is a smallis, well appointed hotel very close to the airport. The pros: it's a very nice property, comfortable and about 10 minutes from pickup to dropoff. It's part of the Intercontinental/ Crowne Plaza / Holiday Inn group of hotels and participates in the Priority Club awards plan.
The cons: It's at the approach end of the runway, which gives you an intimate communion with arriving aircraft. This only lasts until about 11PM however so it doesn't particularly interfere with normal sleeping. It's also not particularly well known by taxi drivers so use the provided shuttle. Note the shuttle runs on the half hour but significantly less than several competitive hotels which leads one to think they may have been forgotten. It's probably a good idea to take the telephone number of the hotel with you to confirm shuttle schedule.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,On
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here twice this month alone in this hotel...
tried both room w/ king size also double queen bed room
First time very little expectation, just thought we give it a try..
Front Desk was very friendly, check in took less than 5 minute.
First Impression of the lobby...bright, modern and refreshing...
We were just surprised how nice the room were, when you opened the door
you get this fresh feeling, love how the combined the colors..

we have stayed in several hotels that are double the charge ,.surprisingly this small
hotel has a flat tv and furnitures are modern as well as the bathroom.
i know on the other reviews the walpaper on one side of the wall
for me personally i think it's nice...it's different retro kinda look.but hey still the room
is much nicer than the hilton or toronto delta.
Aveeda was the toiletries which is an extra touch
unlike some other hotels with no brand cheap shampoo/lotion that smells horrible.

we used all facilities they have...fitness centre..small few equipments but enough to work out a sweat..
pool...warm , nice good size, they left plenty extra towels by the pool
hot tub..it's ok but not enough power/bubbles
dry sauna...gotta allow 15 min before u get in
wet sauna..now this you gotta try, . me and my husband just loving this ...
and fyi again you dont find a lot of hotels that has both dry/wet sauna

parking..yes it's $10 but other airport hotels in the area charge about $15-20/night
(we checked)..check out was a breeze..
quick tip ..per other review , the 5th floor was just added and access only by stairs
but last time we were there they just had a separate elevator
from 4th floor goint to 5th floor. or just ask them not to put u on 5th floor simple as is.

so...for the price that they charge this hotel is absolutely worth it...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Not a bad hotel for the airport. Although the decor is updated with flat screen TV and modern shower-only bathroom (no door on shower, just a partial glass wall so water sprays out onto the bathroom floor), the beds do not have the new pillow top softness and the rooms are small - but still okay. Free wireless works good, but no refrigerator, no microwave and no hair dryer in my room. Five floors and to get to the fifth, you have to get off at 4 and take a separate elevator up the rest of the way! Breakfast in their restaurant is limited, but very tasty. Parking fee for hotels at the airport is outrageous: $10 to $15 per night even for guests and Indigo's was $10. They have their own garage and are off airport property, so they are just gouging. Nothing within walking distance except a strip club, Hooter's and the Arizona Bar and Grill (food was fair to good and Veronica was sweet). Overall not a bad hotel and folks are nice (especially Amanda at the front desk). Pool seemed clean and the hardwood-looking flooring in the room was unique.
I stayed 4 days/3 nights and on the second day discovered the door would not stay locked (if you gave the handle a jiggle just right, it opened). Told the desk and it was not fixed. Third day, housekeeper offered to lock with brass key while we were out and leave a key at the front desk; but, when we returned, the night desk clerk had no such key and the door was again unlocked. Glad no one took our laptops and jewelry! Guess this is why they have a safe in the room! On top of that, that same night they had cancelled our electronic key card, so we could not enter the hotel from the parking garage and had to carry all of our luggage down 3 levels of garage ramps after midnight. Wife never felt safe in a room where the door would not lock, especially considering the industrial airport location, and even spent one night with a nearby relative because of it. Explained all of this to one of the managers before we left, Patrick Guzman, who offered to comp me a breakfast and parking. I stated I wanted to give the hotel an opportunity to earn my trust and would stay an extra night, but he would only comp a night's stay if I were a Priority Gold member, and I was just Priority!! Go figure! I had a Hotwire rate of $60/night+parking and tax, so I did not push it, but did check-out and stay that extra night elsewhere and will not use them again. Anytime I have had a problem with hotels or rental cars while using Hotwire, the respective management has not been very accommodating, always indicating the Hotwire booking leaves them little with which to work. Still, Hotwire has yielded very, very good deals and been helpful in the past, so I may bring this to their attention. Indigo is a good, clean place to stay provided you have transportation to get something to eat and you make sure your room door locks properly! (P.S. the best ultra modern suite at Toronto airport, IMHO, is at the Sandman Signature Hotel, and if I recall, the parking was free and if you find a special deal, you will not regret it! Great place, and not at all expensive considering what you get for your money.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear redbaron41011,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We apologize for the door problem and regret for any inconvenience you had to go through. We hope the free breakfast and parking our manager offered did help you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your business as our valued Priority Club member. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience. Again thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,
Lin Sun
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an early morning flight so we weren't at the hotel very long. The room itself was ok, there were dirt marks on the white desk chair, but the bed seemed clean, as did the rest of the room if a little worn. The airport noise is very noticeable.
We got a deal on hotwire so we can't complain about the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is an airport hotel, nothing more nothing less. It is located no where near anything, but other airport hotels. There is a ludicrous 10 dollar parking charge, that in my mind is there just to add dollars to the bill.
Service only gets one star, since the check in person and the person at checkout were really not that interested in customer service.
If you set your expectations low, it will be just fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport

Address: 135 Carlingview Drive, Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Toronto Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.