We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is decent dim sum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Dragon

Sky Dragon
280 Spadina Street | (inside Mall), Toronto, Ontario, Canada (China Town)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,006 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Neighborhood: China Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: China Town
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It is decent dim sum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went there on a Saturday with my sister. The food was decent and the service was quick. The waitstaff pushed carts around and you just ordered it when they came by. It is a fixture in Toronto chinese community and I have to say the food quality improved since I last visited a year ago.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Top Contributor
818 reviews 818 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
“my favorite dim sum restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Take the elevator to the third floor and marvel at this huge, bustling restaurant, that is always busy. You will love Sky dragon for dim sum lunch on spadina street. The myriad carts whiz by and you select what you want, such as shrimp or beef dumplings, beef in rice noodles, pork ribs, sticky rice,
soup, etc.You can also order a la carte but why bother? Each item is $2,20 until 4pm weekdays and then it goes up to $2.50 They serve dim sum all day.
The dining tables are covered in thin white plastic cloths and when they clear the dishes, they wrap everything up inside the top cloth, and then they are ready to do place settings on the cloth beneath the removed one. Ingenious.
We arrived fpr lunch at 11:50 am and the lace was jammed. Our bill was $16 for dim sum lunch for 2 with at least 6 items, You cannot leave hungry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Solid dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went here on a weekend for lunch with friends. Here, dim sum is served from moving carts that weave their way through the restaurant. Keeping watch for your favourite dishes is half the fun. Had some of the essentials of dim sum: BBQ pork buns, shrimp dumplings, various noodles, sesame balls, to name a few. All were nicely prepared and tasty. This place can get quite busy and cacophonous but that is all part of the atmosphere, right? This restaurant appears to largely serve the local Chinese population, but staff are still accommodating for English-speakers. Good value (<$60 for 5-person meal), good times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cockroach Oct 25 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Full-size Cockroach in the Dim Sum!!!!!!!!!

October 25th 2013, Our office decided to go for lunch to Sky Dragon. There was a full-sized adult Cockroach included with our Dim Sum. We spoke to the Manager, who appeared to be completely unfazed when we showed him the Cockroach. The manager did not charge for the tea or the one dish of Dim Sum. The fact that he was so unmoved by the fact that a table of 8 was served a cockroach is a pretty darn good indication that our cockroach was not an isolated situation.

Unless you love Cockroach do not eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Hong Kong Style Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We go to skydragon often from our workplace. They became a cherished tradition of workplace bonding among us colleagues. The dining room has a nostalgic ambience with its wall-to-wall carpeting and every crevice is packed with tables. We have eaten here well over a thirty times and don't think I've ever racked up a bill over $20 per person. The various dishes we have had and liked over the years are Deep fried calamari, steamed shrimp and pork dumplings, pea shoots with soy-chili sauce, head-on shrimp deep-fried in crystal batter, sweet and flaky barbecue pork buns garnished with sesame seeds, green onion pancakes, deep-fried Beggar’s Purses stuffed with shrimp and dipped in Kewpie mayo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Sky Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.