We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-visit for cheese lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carens Wine and Cheese Bar

Carens Wine and Cheese Bar
158 Cumberland St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
+1 416-962-5158
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,167 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: French, Continental, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Fondue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Description: Yorkville's hidden gem; Carens wine and cheese is a quaint, rustic French restaurant specializing in a vast selection of wine and cheese from all over the world. Serving lunch and dinner every day of the week and classic brunch on weekends, Carens boasts a unique dining experience and a delightful summer patio unlike any other.
Burlington, Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A must-visit for cheese lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is a great idea. A restaurant focused primarily on wine and cheese. Who knew? They have delicious and reasonably-priced oysters, great soups, appetizers and mains. But the real secret is the cheese. The wine menu is followed by cheese platters, fondue, and individual cheese selections. So yummy and great service from Cory.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still a Must on a Visit to Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Tucked away on Cumberland Street in Yorkville, Carens Wine and Cheese is still a must visit when I am in Toronto. My latest visit for lunch did not disappoint. The wine list is substantial yet not overwhelming. The server introduced me to a very good Canadian Pinot Noir from Niagara. The mussels appetizer was very flavorful. The Stilton burger was great, fairly large and juicy. Lunch was an A+ experience. Their menu also includes wine, cheese and fruit pairings which are well thought out. The prices are a bit high, but is not unexpected for a Yorkville eatery

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Go out back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a terrific restaurant with great food and nice wine pairings. I didn't know that it had a terrace courtyard out back, and it is super cute. Make sure you go sit out there -- even it it's cold, as they have heaters.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great people! Laid back atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were staying at a hotel in the area and wandered in one night for drinks. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The staff was super nice and friendly and Alana's expresso martini's were yummy! We came back the next night for more of them. Sad to say we didn't eat anything, but if we're in the area again we sure will!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Yorkville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Caren's is an unassuming treasure. Across the street from the Cumberland movie theatre, it's easy to miss, but am I ever glad I found it. Aside from the extensive variety of cheeses and wines by the glass, it has a varied menu of salads, sandwiches and hearty mains. The mac-and-cheese is among the best I've ever had. And brunch, too, is generous and delicious. In the summer, the back patio is an oasis away from the bustle of Yorkville. In the winter, hearty dishes take away the chill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carens Wine and Cheese Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carens Wine and Cheese Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carens Wine and Cheese Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.