We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cool but not cozy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Local Company

The Local Company
511 Danforth Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M4K 1P5, Canada
4164655522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,898 of 6,776 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fenwick Avenue
Transit: Chester Subway Station or Pape Subway Station
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too cool but not cozy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place confused me.
The host waiters etc were so nice, but there atmosphere and food was like a cardboard cut out of how things are supposed to look.... In a magazine.
No warmth. It felt like a movie set not a local cozy restaurant.
And please man, this is Toronto we drink 'real' cocktails here.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just don't...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mediocre food and service...
Washrooms stinks.
Many strange faces around...
The music gets too loud when it transforms to a club.
There was no dj around, just a set that they downloaded from the net...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stumbled upon this place years ago, and have always been pleasantly surprised by both the food and service. It's really more of a club, but we have had several, very good dinners there over the years before the club scene takes hold. The sweet potato fries are among the best I've ever had! Worth a try for something not-Greek on the Danforth!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Incredible Dinner on the Danforth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had an awesome evening out with a friend. The food and service were amazing!

We enjoyed martinis, oysters, calamari; I had the steak dinner and she had the braised ribs. Everything was to die for! Definitely check this place out!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Out on the Danforth for an event and was looking for something not Greek....I know then why go to the Danforth. This restaurant was really good! The service was bang on. Our table had most of the appetizers and split everything so we all had a taste of each item.
Sweet Potato Frites, as you would expect... Chorizo Meatballs...really different. With bit of kick. Fried Calamari...always a test to see if it’s turns to rubber not the case here light batter really tasty... Grilled Lamb Chops. Grilled to perfection Mushroom Risotto....very velvety...truffle oil might not have been necessary but could be just being picky... Grilled Vegetables & Quinoa was a nice addition to round out all of the food. Kind of a dog’s breakfast as a menu mix but actually was really enjoyable with a great selection of wines. Nice Danforth surprise for me!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Company also viewed

 

Been to The Local Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.