We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad dining experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario

Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario
317 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5T I4G, Canada
4169796688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #752 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McCaul Street
Transit: St. Patrick Subway Station on the University line. 2 blocks east of University on south side of Dundas Street (at the intersection of McCaul St. and Dundas).
Description: One of the Frank Gehry-designed spaces, FRANK restaurant is conveniently located on the first floor with access from Dundas Street. The restaurant is casual chic: modern Danish furnishings are paired with acrylic tabletops in a multitude of vibrant colours. Etched glass and vertical-grain Douglas fir also accent the space. Anne Yarymowich has served as executive chef at the AGO since 1996. She has created a new restaurant menu featuring contemporary comfort cuisine and showcasing the best of Ontario’s agricultural products.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A bad dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just came back from our first visit to Frank at the Art Gallery of Ontario. It was a good example of how a dining experience can be ruined by poor service. The food was reasonably good; certainly not exceptional. My wife and I shared the shrimp, crab and avocado salad as a starter which was fresh, well-dressed, and tasty. Our problems started with the servings of the mains. We both ordered poutine, a starter which could easily be a main course. One dish arrived and after over 10 minutes of waiting for the 2nd dish we told the waiter that we would prefer to have two warm meals served at the same time. She took this as us wanting to cancel our order. When we stated that we simply wanted to have our warm meal served together. She was abrupt and unapologetic. After a long wait both plates were slapped down on the table without a word from the waiter. The poutine was okay. One of our dishes came with a nice spicy sauce; the other didn't. You needed a microscope to look for the cheese.
One can expect mistakes in a kitchen, however, to be treated rudely when the mistake is pointed out is unacceptable. Fortunately for us, we had a lovely day at the museum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    57
    21
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Frankly - No”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I try to be as objective as possible with a restaurant review but when it comes a culinary experience one cannot eliminate subjective and emotional factors, tastes and preferences .The service was good and the setting is attractive. But the food ! Did we just hit a bad day ? Of our entire group at brunch, the best food rating given was, " Pretty average". My pasta carbonara had two paper thin ( austerity plan?) small pieces of pancetta on the side. The dish was tasteless and reminiscent of a sticky mac and cheese. Even serving it on a warm dish( mine was cold) wouldn't have compensated. One of us had an omelette and declared it to be "OK , I suppose." The last time we were at Frank we had a very different , a very positive experience. But when measured on a most recent visit basis , Frank failed to make "average" or pass .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crab BLT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Softshell crab on a baguette with a spicy coleslaw, bacon, lettuce and tomato (naturally) - a tour de force served with french fries. And many other select creations to choose from. One of the most interesting places to eat in Toronto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a light meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I can imagine that it's tough to run a restaurant in a world class art gallery, but it should at least be consistent. Not a place I would bring anyone important. See the art, have a light snack, or walk north from the Gallery a block or two to restaurant row for better food and service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
367 helpful votes 367 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all aspects; I love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

How can you go wrong with a culinary experience menu fixe, 3 course lunch for only $25, you can't!!! This place is outstanding in all aspects. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent drink, excellent desserts. You must eat here!!! Great deal for March Break for kids. Only $12 per child for a very cool kids buffet with mac and cheese, chicken fingers, pancakes (for lunch how cool is that), rice krispies, cookies, assortment of milks and juices, this buffet had it all to make my kids very happy. I had a great glass of red wine Cabernet from California worth the $14. Once again I must comment on how awesome the service was in this restaurant. If you happen to go to the AGO, reserve a table at Frank, you will not be sorry you did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Restaurant at The Art Gallery of Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.