We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Somerset

Duke of Somerset
655 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M4V 3C6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 640-0921
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #898 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: American, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went for my 19th Birthday at midnight. Waitress was excellent, pleasant, fun, and gave me a free shot! Atmosphere was great, definitely busy as we went with other students post-competition. Would love to return and try their food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    25
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tetney
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good wine list and selection of beers. Nice food selection and was lovely to be able to eat alfresco and watch the olympics. The service was superb.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulln, Austria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good drinks - food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

nice atmosphere - nice staff - good drinks (irish pub) - food a bit disapointing (burger, fish and chips, steak with salad)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“regular lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My collegue and I go out to lunch about once a month and this is where we go. The food is excellent and the service is fantastic. You can actually have a nice lunch if all the time you have is a 1/2 hr.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Basic Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stopped in here for a quick dinner, and were not disappointed. There is some variety on the normal pub fare with some Indian Curry dishes, which was a nice touch. One of us had the Butter Chicken - and it was excellent!

There are daily specials - food seems good and plentiful. Also drink specials - can't beat $4.00 for a glass of Shiraz or Chardonnay with dinner!

Will definitely go back when in the area again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Somerset also viewed

 

Been to Duke of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.