We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of INDEXG B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
INDEXG B&B
Save
You added INDEXG B&B to your Saves list
50 Gladstone Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 3K6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Another Caribana Weekend and this time i stayed away from big hotels and decided to try B &B . Very quiet neighbourhood and had some good sleep when all the madness of Caribana was over :) . with all the great reviews on this place i am happy to confirm. By far this is one of the best stays ive had in Toronto . Location was very good . Rooms are tiny but well kept and the art Gallery is pretty nice compared to ones ive seen in Soho , NY. Never actually made it to breakfast as we were too busy with Caribana . Lots of shops around so breakfast was never an issue when we were awake mid-day . Tram is a few blocks over . Cabs are a hand wave away . I did have a few issues with parking , as i had to move my car to accomodate guest checking in and out ( parking is limited in this area ) ..but overall the experience was good . Owners are friendly and welcoming . Will be back !

Room Tip: Quiet Neighbourhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
29
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at index g and couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. Holly and Lee were great hosts- we even had an embarrassing incident where we forgot our keys one night and Lee graciously let us in at 2am. Eating breakfast in the gallery was a great cultural experience too, especially given the hosts involvement in the toronto art scene. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location is good, in the art district of Toronto. But "downtown" is some distance away (we rented bikes). As has been said before the hosts are very kind and helpful. For breakfast they offer a variety of things like fruit, cereals and bread. Our room was clean, bright and roomy. Caveat: The A/C is centrally regulated for all rooms. While I did like the temperature in the evening it got a bit too cold for me in the night. You can tell them if you don't like the temperature but as I said I noticed a little too late.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had a great 2-night stay at INDEXG B&B. The property is located in the West Queen West neighborhood of Toronto, just minutes from the streetcar and on a very quiet street. I always like staying out of downtown areas when I travel and this was a great neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants, but very accessible to the rest of the city. My room was extremely clean and aesthetically pleasing and the bed was very comfortable. I had I think the only room where the bathroom was not actually in the room, which was totally fine. Breakfast is served in the downstairs art gallery that the owners also operate and the space was very peaceful and sunny -- a great way to start the day. My only (minor) complaint was that I could not get on the wireless network with my phone in my room -- I'd written it off as non-functional and only later did I pull out my laptop and I was in fact able to connect with that. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming. If I ever return to Toronto I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It doesn't get better than IndexG for location, ambiance, style, and value. Holly and Lee are gracious, lovely, and welcoming artists/innkeepers, who have obviously conceptualized and designed a B&B that exudes calm and uncomplicated elegance. IndexG is immaculate, clearly lovingly maintained, and the art gallery aesthetic prevails throughout, including the B&B rooms and hallways. Beds and linens, bathrooms, simple amenities (such as wifi)--all are excellent. A fine breakfast is served in a bright and airy gallery space, and we found it particularly pleasurable to start the day surrounded by art. There is nothing fussy or intrusive about this B&B. Rather, it is a stylish and wonderfully understated establishment that is one of the city's most outstanding values for accommodation. The area of West Queen West/Parkdale has become trendy (as evidenced by the Gladstone and Drake hotels, in particular) , and there are numerous and excellent bars, restaurants, galleries, and shops to recommend the location of IndexG. Whether you are venturing up to the restaurants along west College Street, or eastward along Queen to the downtown core, the B&B is truly a brilliant location. I'm a Torontonian, born and raised, now living in Vancouver, and on my return visits, I would not stay in any accommodation other than IndexG.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

As others have said the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. It was close to street cars and shopping. The off street parking spot was a bargain at $10 a night. Breakfast was great and the gallery space was full of light and had a wonderful relaxing feeling. I would recommend staying here to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Kildare Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed eleven nights with gracious hosts Holly and her husband. This was the perfect base for my Toronto visit. Streetcar was less than five minute walk away and subway station less that ten minutes on street car. I could not fault my stay at indexg, my room was spacious and immaculately clean. The breakfast was substantial enough to keep me satisfied until lunch. One morning Holly had even made fresh wonderful scrumptious blueberry and cinnamon muffins for the guests.. Delicious. I needed an adaptor for an appliance and was given one to use for the duration of my stay.. They couldn't have been more helpful and never intrusive. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to INDEXG B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDEXG B&B

Address: 50 Gladstone Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 3K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
INDEX G B&B is a 5 bedrooms Contemporary styleBed and Breakfast, located at the Queen West Art and Design district in Downtown Toronto.Great location at affordable price.We are just a short walk to various art galleries, restaurants, bars, cafe, shops and much more.Public transit almost right at door steps. Dufferin bus stop is a few steps away and 1 minute walk to the 24 hours Queen streetcar stop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INDEXG B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.