We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with a reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location with a reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were visiting Toronto for a couple of days as an extension of a family vacation to Niagra Falls. Many hotels in the city were completely full and remaining rooms at many properties were very expensive for the dates we needed. The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown on Peter St. was the best quality for the most reasonable price at the time we made our reservation. There is a lot of construction through-out the city, but none adjacent to this hotel. Construction does not interfere with access to the hotel or walks to nearby restaurants or shops. While the front desk staff was not as friendly as most other people that we encountered in Toronto, they were helpful when we had questions. The valets, bell hops, etc. were very friendly. We were never awakened by sounds of the city and the hallways and lobby were very quiet. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, but a bit small for a family of four with a lot of luggage. The location was a perfect "home base" for sightseeing. We had breakfast at the nearby Starbuck's just so we could eat quickly and start exploring. The front desk staff recommended Canteen for dinner our first night. No one in our family enjoyed the food there and we would not recommend it. The second night the hotel recommended Kit Kat (which is Italian) and everyone in the family was happy with this recommendation. It was cramped and noisy but the food was great and our server was great too! The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown is great place to stay and we would return. I should probably mention that there was a strange smell (like stale curry) in the hallway while we were there, but the room did not have that odor. Also, the valet parking is really expensive and may negate the good price on the room. We were nervous about seeking other parking options and just decided to pay the valet rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    337
    101
    31
    34
See reviews for
150
222
43
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. Close to the Rogers Center and just a few blocks from shopping on Queen Street. A great hotel that exceeds its 3-star rating. The staff were exceptional. I will definitely consider staying here again when we visit Toronto in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Friendly Staff. Perfect location for first time visit to Toronto set between Kings and Queens road. Central to most places one would like to explore for a first trip. Would return to same hotel for next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was another lovely hotel in a very central location & only a 10 minute walk to the Toronto Convention Centre.
Our room on the sixth floor was large & very quiet as it was away from the busy road on the other side.
Breakast was available @ an extra cost of about US $10.00 for a Contintental Breakfast.
The hotel was close to lots of restuarants & a street car was only 100 metres away.
Major shops were a 15/20 minute walk.
Plus the freeway entrance was in the next block.
The CN Tower was 10 minutes away & 20 minutes walk to the Waterfront.
The Blue Jays Stadium was also 10 minutes away.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Plus rooms away from the busy streets are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is in a prime location for downtown sightseeing. It is within easy walking distance of Queen Street shopping, the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), the CN Tower, loads of restaurants, the theatre district if you'd like to see a play, and more.

It is ALSO sandwiched between night clubs in what is benignly dubbed "the entertainment district", an area that is overrun by highly intoxicated--and occasionally violent--young adults on Friday and Saturday nights. Be warned.

We stayed here on a Sunday night and thought we would escape the noise (especially because we requested a quiet room a full month in advance, and were assured we could get one). However, we had to switch rooms at 10:30pm when bass from the club next door began thumping through the walls and floor. If there hadn't been another room available for us, I would have requested our money back and left.

It was that bad.

As it stands, the room we were moved to was across from the elevators and not the "quiet room" we requested at the time of booking. We were even disturbed by housekeeping when they decided to ignore our Privacy sign by knocking not once but twice (albeit very politely).

Additional pros + cons:

-The walls and doors are THIN. We could hear a conversation from the neighbouring room as if it was taking place in our room, and noise outside and in the hallways started at about 5:30am. (Yes, this is downtown Toronto, but a little soundproofing effort could have been made in the construction of this property.)

-The mattresses are memory foam and crinkle like a diaper when you move around. I sunk deeper and deeper into mine as I tried to sleep, and the resulting depression didn't bounce back even when I left to use the washroom. Also, they sleep EXTREMELY hot. Some people may like that.

-The front desk staff was topnotch. While we didn't appreciate their initial canned response to our noise complaint ("This is the entertainment district; we cannot guarantee no noise") they ultimately addressed our concerns with noteworthy kindness. They also greeted us warmly at check-in, and smiled and waved as we came and went throughout the day.


Bottom line: This hotel should warn potential visitors about sound from the neighbouring nightclubs BOLDLY and REPEATEDLY at the time of booking. I've stayed in NYC in Times Square. I've spent many nights in the urban hearts of Oakland and San Francisco and Chicago. I've been a Toronto resident for most of my life. And still, I've never experienced noise this bad. It could easily ruin a vacation.

Room Tip: Only book a room here if you a) aren't concerned about getting a quiet night's sleep or b) c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Newer hotel near the Hyatt and conveniently located near Rogers Center and the CN Tower. The new Ripley Aquarium is also near by. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Bed was restful and the room quiet. Restaurant is a little limited but food is good. A recommended place to stay.

Kudos to the gal who cleaned my room. She did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is a little (10 min walk) East of Yonge/Dundas, but certainly close enough to the facilities there. The location is a little sparse (Tim Horton's opposite is about the only viable food outlet), but the hotel itself I found to be superb. The room/suite I was huge and well equipped, yet reasonably priced; I ended up paying about $165 after tax.

Room Tip: I had a suite facing West on the lower floors. It was really quiet. I imagine upper floors would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.