We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlpool in the bedroom.. exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #30 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Whirlpool in the bedroom.. exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a night, got the whirlpool room and have to say it was unforgettable! The room and the hotel in general are extremely clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially because of its central location in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Salsaa,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed one of our upgraded rooms, they are great for a relaxing getaway in the city - especially as the weather gets colder.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    289
    87
    23
    28
See reviews for
126
201
38
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here because the room rate was $20/night less than the conference hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. I was on a Hilton Honors floor and the room had free internet, a fridge and a microwave. It was convenient because the portions at restaurants were large, and i could save $ on food by taking leftovers back to the room and heating them up later. I liked that they had a little window within the window that could be opened for fresh air. The hotel was only 2 and a half blocks from Queen Street, a few blocks from the theater area, a few blocks from good shopping. Overall, good location even though the surrounding blocks were mostly under construction. The pool, hot tub and fitness room were small but serviceable. I had little interaction with the staff, so hard to comment there. I did not use the restaurant, so hard to comment there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, you do not hear much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the third time we stayed at this hotel and we noticed that the staff and management has changed. I tried to call the front desk to get someone to help with luggage upon check out and tried at least 4 times and let the phone ring several times and no one picked up. I was told the desk clerk was in the back room. My husband experienced the same problem. Right now there is a lot of construction near the hotel and it starts early morning. Although the hotel is convenient in the entertainment district many of the roads are being torn up and you are walking under scaffolds. Parking is also a problem and the manager admitted to that. We ended up keeping our car in a lot across from the hotel as my husband needed access to the car daily. The service in the restaurant was lacking when we had dinner only once.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Janice D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am really sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel, from trying to get assistance with your luggage, to having parking challenges. I can assure you that we take feedback like this very seriously, and that our guests' satisfaction is extremely important to us. Hearing that repeated phone calls weren't answered is concerning to me, and I will make sure to address this. Further, while we have very limited parking spaces, it is always our endeavour to assist our guests with finding alternative parking in the area.

Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel to discuss your stay further
Thank you again for your time
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

For someone in business, a 15 minute wait to sit, followed by 30 minutes wait for the food is just not acceptable. Loses the value of a breakfast coupon voucher for Diamond Members. I guess given the tub in the bedroom, this garden inn is not a business hotel. I expected being able to grab something and run. The room was spacious and clean though. The breakfast experience killed my day and I was late for a meeting. The regular Hilton in Toronto is a better choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed with my group in this hotel October 11-14.
Arriving in the hotel after 12.5 hours flight and being welcome wormly by Shawn, the deputy manager, was the start of a wonderful 3 night stay .
He was not the only one - all the staff I dealt with were so co-operative and kind that it felt like we were being visiting family!!
Lora, the F&B manager was so helpful with our special needs, so were everybody!!!
On October 29th, 5 am, because of Hurican Sandy, we arrived back in Toronto by bus instead of flying from New York in order to continue with our flight back home - we spent few hours in between in this hotel - It felt like comming Home!!!
Thank you so much!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with south windows - there's a noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for such an awesome review of your stay. We were honored to host your group here, and so happy that everyone was pleased with our front desk and valet staff. Your comments about Laura and Shawn have been shared with the team. Hopefully, we will see you back in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and we wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is okay, but not as nice as other downtown hotels. Unfortunately, its also very loud with construction by day and party goers by night (outside). Forget about breakfast at the restaurant. As is typical with Hilton breakfasts, it takes forever if you even get served. At this hotel, I was seated at a dirty table which no one ever came to wipe and no one took my order. After 20 minutes and a yogurt I left without any staff even so much as glancing my way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very easy to access from the Gardiner Expressway. Near many restaurants that offer a variety of food options. The hotel is also very close to the theatre district. We were there to see a concert at Air Canada and it was easy to get there. It was raining hard while we were there so we used taxis but many of the places are within walking distance.
The hotel is relatively new so the decor was current. The rooms nicely appointed. Our room, corridors and lobby were all very clean. Room was sound proof. Valet staff friendly as were the people serving breakfast. Wish we had had time to go to the pool. Only issue was the front desk staff were a little confused about whether the restaurant was open or not and how to access a taxi. They were friendly!

Room Tip: We enjoyed ou corner room as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.