We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #36 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Guided by other reviews on tripadvisor, I chose the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for a recent stay in Toronto. As usual, the other reviewers didn't lead me astray! It was the perfect location for our needs - close to restaurants and shopping - and was new, clean, and very comfortable. We had a room on the top floor, but I could still hear noise from the club next door on Friday and Saturday nights. Since I live in downtown Vancouver, I'm used to city noise and active nightlife, so it didn't bother me, but if you're coming from a quiet suburb or are very sensitive to noise at night, this might not be the ideal location for you. I had a very pleasant stay, and especially liked the fabulous shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    322
    95
    30
    33
See reviews for
146
215
42
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was clean and spacious. Excellent beds and pillows. The room had a large LCD TV, microwave, fridge and coffeemaker with 2 mugs.
Please note this hotel sits in a club area of the theatre district and if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on a higher floor on the quiet side of the building- it will help.
The pool is small and the hot tub temp felt quite cool.
Restaurant staff appeared lost and guessing on what they should do next during the breakfast hours of the hotel's restaurant - however the food was always served hot.
Let's end this review on a good note - Fresh cookies were available at the front desk after 5pm and always looked forward to this little treat after a day of meetings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice room book through booking.com.
The room was on the 11th floor,
Quiet in corner
Front desk staff sent a plate of cracker fruit and cheese as a gift for our birthdays.
Really nice surprise
Room was clean like the whirlpool bath with the fireplace in room too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed one night at the Hilton Garden Inn as my fiancée had a weekend course downtown. This is not my normal Toronto hotel but we were able to get a really good deal on hotwire.

First impressions of the hotel were very good. The location is right in the heart of the entertainment district. A short walk to numerous restaurants, bars as well as St. Andrew subway station. When I walked in the hotel it looked brand new (which I think it is).

Check-in was quick and service was very friendly. Thanks to other reviews on TA I had requested a room that was not facing the nightclub across the street as apparently the music can be heard from the room until 2-3AM. This request was honored.

The room was very clean and spacious and more in line with the 4-star hotels I’m used to (Sheraton near City Hall/Marriott Bloor-Yorkville), then the 3-star it is advertised as. The bathroom was very modern and elegant and the TV was large and provided easy access for connecting a laptop (this is HUGE for me).

There was one downside to this hotel, and this would only be the case if you were not using the hotel as a base for Toronto partying. I say this because many rooms are booked for just that. You are going to get the rowdy guests in the hallways, elevators and possibly in the room beside you. We were staying on Halloween weekend which I’m sure played a huge role, but I would assume most Fri/Sat nights are somewhat similar. I mean, it’s the entertainment district. This didn’t end up being a huge issue though as your TV will easily drown out the noise and the partiers will vacate around 10 and not return until after 2. It’s also possible that I was more forgiving, as I have been on both sides of this scenario.

All in all this one issue cannot bring this hotel away from its deserving 5/5 rating. If I’m able to get the same deal again I will surely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location within walking distance from CN Tower and other attractions.

Spacious rooms and facilities. Lots of room for two and luggage.

Staff very helpful.

Car parking is by Valet only (uses lift) and is not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Staff: perfect
Rooms: perfect
Food: perfect
Breakfast: delightful
Cleanliness: perfect
Facilities: perfect
Views: perfect
Price: well - I stayed for free so that is always perfect!

I have a disability and staff were more than accommodating to my needs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear ASharpMajor A,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff.
I will be sure to share your feedback with everyone here, we love reviews like these!

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

There is no problem with the hotel itself, but couldn't sleep the entire night because its right next to a very busy loud night club. Worst night of sleep I've ever had!
The staff is very friendly, hotel is clean, it just needs a new location, or sound proofing, it's 2:30 in the morning and the club is still rockin. I've never had an issue sleeping through noise before, and we are not on the ground level, we are on the 10th floor. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear JennaRath,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. I'm really sorry to see that you did not get a good night's sleep due to noise from the adjacent nightclub. Unfortunately, as much as we try to ensure a quiet night for our guests, our location does tend to make for lively weekend nights.

Please feel free to contact me in advance of your next stay, I would be more than happy to do my best to ensure you a quiet room on the opposite side of the building.

Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.