We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST KEPT SECRET IN THE CITY! A great deal and nice place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Living Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Living Suites to your Saves list
Urban Living Suites
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   785 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J1V2 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 122 Toronto B&B and Inns
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST KEPT SECRET IN THE CITY! A great deal and nice place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

A group of 4 of us just recently stayed at Urban Living Suites (Oct 2011). After looking at other available hotels in the area, which ran upwards of $400 per night, we stumbled across Urban Living Suites. We were hesitant at first, since it seemed too good to be true (available and inexpensive!). After arriving, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had two double beds, a kitchenette (fully equiped with fridge, utensils, dishes etc etc!), table with four chairs, private bathroom, and sitting area. Our room was modern, newly updated/renovated, clean, and all in all a fantastic deal for $100 total (including all taxes). FREE Parking was available right in the hotel lot. We were within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and anything one could need. While most hotels in the nearby area cost between 300-400 and charge at least 20 per parking, Urban Living Suites, is by far, is the best deal around. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    14
    10
    15
See reviews for
18
30
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!We stayed there for the past 2 years. Each time was for about 2 weeks during September. Very friendly owner and staff. Walking distance to Toronto Western Hospital (Which is where my husband was staying due to surgery) and same as fast food restaurants-McDonalds-Tim Hortons and lots of other great places. Walking distance to Shopping Mall and many more stores. Very Very Clean Rooms - Big and Comfortable- Fully furnished kitchen. Free Parking, Which was very convenient- I was able to walk everywhere and save on parking fees. Very affordable place to stay if you are in Toronto. I recommend this place - very friendly atmosphere :)

Mona

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were 3 guests attending the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival, we stayed for 8 nights in the same room. We split the $80-a-night room, it was of amazing value for a its location - a 20 minute walk to the core of the festival (Bell Lightbox) on King street. There is a bus stop on Dundas about 20 seconds from the front door that'll swiftly take you to Dundas Square. Urban Living is also close to the Kensington Market, with 5 eateries surrounding the Inn including a Subway and a McDonald's.

I remember reading on TripAdvisor before the trip, of people seeing homeless activities and how it was a poor area. Though everyone's experience may vary, when we return nightly from the TIFF parties around 2-3am in the morning, not a single homeless person was ever in sight. To us the area felt safe and calm.

We also did not have "plastic sheets" on our two twin-size beds like some of the other TripAdvisor posts stated. The beds were average, we are in our early 20s and did not experience any discomfort.

The rooms were clean, the hallway smelled nice.

The only criticism I have are some of the surface aesthetics: for example as you might've read, the lobby of this Inn is a furniture store, it'll look embarrassing if someone was dropping you off. But the way we see it, no one will ever break into such a worthless looking establishment, if anything, it is the best anti-theft protection: invisibility. The room numbers were also written on stickers with highlighter pens, looked crappy. But if you don't really care about how luxurious things look on the outside, the rooms inside were quite the opposite of the outside presentation. Included was a beautiful bathroom and a mini-kitchen equipt with eating 10 X utensils/bowls/glasses/cutting knives, stove-top water boiler for tea and instant noodles, a microwave and a medium-sized fridge.

Our room was also next door to the balcony-roof where we ate our breakfast every morning under the sun, it became quite a charming ritual.

If you are someone that doesn't need a polished marble lobbies to be happy, and just want a comfortable safe room to return to at night, we highly recommend Urban Living for its incredible value, we are definitely coming back here for any future TIFF outings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

We came to Toronto from long travel from Ottawa. We were very excited for our hotel becaose we saw all photos on hotel's website. It was looking for the best rooms in our canadian trip. However the reaility was far away from that photos we saw on website. We came to the adress and we saw just sign URBAN LIVING. No sign of hotel was here. The entrance to rooms was from dirty and disguisting furniture store. We came to see the room which should be suits. The hall and stairs were in terrible status and everywhere you could feel disguisting smell of cigarettes, rats and bugs. The "suit" room was just one room with little kitchen next to One of two dirty small beds. Becaose of these all horrible things we decided to cancel the reservation and run away from that place as quickly as it was possible. It was our first memory from Canada and if you don't want to see that what we saw there, FOR ANY CASE DON'T GO INTO THIS TERRIBLE HOTEL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. It was good for the price, clean and the service was good and the girl at the front desk very helpful and friendly. The location was good as it was close to everything.

I didn't like the plastic covered mattress that creaked every time you moved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are located in the upper part of a furniture store. The rooms themselves are comfortable. We stayed at 2 different rooms, because we extended our stay: we were first in the most economical room, which is a bit tight and does not have windows (only a light tube), but has a decent bed and bathroom and kitchenette. The other room was a bit pricier but much more ample, and with a couple of windows facing the street.
The location is excellent, just 1 block east is Dundas & Bathurst, where 2 lines of streetcars pass by, including one that takes you directly to Eaton Centre in Downtown (along Dundas).
The downside is the personnel availability. We had told them by email in advance that we were to arrive early morning to leave the luggage (came in overnight flight), and they confirmed their availability for that. But when we arrived, surprise, no one there: it turns out they only open from noon to 7 pm. I had to make a call in a phone booth nearby (after getting some change, as we were coming from overseas) and this guy, who seems to be the owner, sent somebody to open the room for us but didn't give us a key. So, we had to stay there until they opened several hours later. Same story for checkout, nobody there, so had to leave the key in the room. However, the times when the recepcionist was there, a nice Colombian woman, the treatment was very nice.
All in all, nice value for the price, decent room and location, but don't expect to have 24/7 personnel availability, even for basic stuff as checking in or out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were pleased with the hotel. It came with all the ammenities that were advertised. It was a bit smaller than we had imagined it to be but for the price it was a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Living Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Living Suites

Address: 785 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J1V2 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Living Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated, family-run suites offering clean, quiet and furnished apartments for short terms rentals. Located between Little Italy and Chinatown we are just a short distance away from Toronto’s more popular attractions. Toronto’s famous Queen Street is just a few steps away and there you will find trendy restaurants, art boutiques, local markets and great shopping. A street-car stop located just on the corner provides easy access around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Urban Living Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Living Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Living Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.