We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Libretto

Pizzeria Libretto
221 Ossington Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 2Z8, Canada
416.532.8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have tried several pizza places in Toronto and this remains my favourite. The pizza is consistently great! I personally love the Margherita - the tomato sauce is great. I even recently tried it with the spelt crust and it was still fantastic. The crusts are what make this pizza so good, they have that nice "chewy-ness" despite being a thin crust.

Other things you should check out at Libretto:
- the lunch prix-fix is an excellent deal for $15. The pizzas are still full size.
- the Antipasto Misto platter is a winner - it has fantastic cheeses, meats and spreads. It is served with hot bread - made out of pizza dough with an excellent garlic and herb seasoning.

One recommendation - if you are going for dinner make sure to get there early, there is usually a wait, as this is a hot-spot for locals. If there is a wait they will take your number and text you when your table is ready. It is a nice area to walk around in, or grab a drink, so waiting a little while is not horrible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    124
    34
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto ON Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

have been to Ossigton and Danforth. If you hit a good day pizza is good if not ?? mush. How is this possible. Great service though and fun atmosphere. Nice patio on the Danforth. Meatball app is good. I think they expanded too fast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Leave room for desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent authentic neapolitan pizzas (in particular the margarita and marina pizzas). Appetisers like the calamari are good. Do not forget to try the desserts with the chocolate budino and vanilla afogato being the stand outs. Service could be improved as we found staff were not particularly attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deliscious Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Expected to wait, told an hour but was called 20 mins later. Ordered the Calamari, they were so so I've had better, didn't like the green sauce it came with and the batter was a bit too thick I prefer lightly battered in flour. Arancini, they were pretty good, the sauce they came with was great. Margherita pizza was delicious the only problem was that it was that the middle of the pizza was a bit too soggy but the flavour was amazing best pizza sauce I've ever had. Tiramisu cream was great cookies a bit hard but still good. Will def be going back. Staff were great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The pizza here is hyped and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The pizza here, alhtough "over"hyped at this point in the restaurants history, is absolutely delicious. Anyone that says otherwise, in my opinion, is not being totally truthful. Both locations are great. Ossington - go to the tequila bar (Reposado) down the street while waiting for your table. Danforth - make a reservation. Top 5 pizza's in my opinion (and in order); Duck Confit, Prosciutto Arugula, Margherita, Anchovy, Daily/ Weekly Specials. The app's are very good - all the calamari being my favourite. Enjoy the above dishes by sharing with your partner/ friends/ family and a nice glass of wine of bottle of Peroni.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Libretto also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Libretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Libretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.