We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to real italian pizza I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Libretto

Pizzeria Libretto
221 Ossington Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 2Z8, Canada
416.532.8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Closest to real italian pizza I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been to Italy and this is the closest to the real thing! It is delicious. The dough is so thin and comes out perfectly cooked with small bubbles and a slight char. The pizza toppings are fresh including the basil, mushrooms, cheese. I also love how it is fresh mozzarella vs shredded brick cheese. It is so much more desirable.

The lunch prix fixe is a fantastic deal - appetizer, pizza and dessert for $15! I had the beet caprese for my appetizer and it was delicious! My husband had the arugula salad and it was also fantastic. I've also been here for dinner an the Arancini is to die for!

The wait time to get into the restaurant is my only complaint. However, once you're in the restaurant, the service is quick and impeccable!

I love this place. In fact, it is my favourite restaurant and I live in Sudbury. Everytime I'm in Toronto, we try to eat here (the Ossington Ave) location!

I love how this restaurant really focusses on fresh, quality ingredients and let`s them shine! Nothing is overdressed or overdone.

Love, love, love this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    141
    36
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pie in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This place makes the bet pizzas in town I've had.

Costs are a touch high in my opinion, but still overall good value.

Ambience is good... For a pizzeria... A little crammed and "chaotic" feeling, not the most comfortable place to eat, but hey, what do you expect right.

I would certainly recommend this place to anyone!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very Good Traditional Neopolitan Pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pizza Libretto does very good traditional style pizza in a casual setting. You won't find your large pepperoni pizza here if that's what you are looking for, rather pizza with toppings like truffle paste, berkshire ham, egg, pear, duck confit and Stracciatella. They also do some pretty nice appetizers. The meatballs are especially good. There is a small wine list too.

The pizzas are quite big but are very thin based so you can easily manage one to yourself!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overrated and over priced. Nothing interesting about this pizza at all. Thin papery crust. Tomato sauce is average. Hardly any cheese. Everything was overpriced. Don't see the attraction at all. Not even a really nice room either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“long line, quick meal, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not the typical pizza, both in crust and ingredients. But excellent overall. Long wait with no reservations at the Ossington location, but the Danforth location takes reservations. Ossignton works better to combine with a night at the bars.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Libretto also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Libretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Libretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.