We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Bed, lovely Breakfast, close to Everywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Toronto Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toronto Garden Inn
142 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 119 Toronto B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Comfy Bed, lovely Breakfast, close to Everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this great location within easy reach of streetcar, downtown, restaurants etc..The lights on the tree outside were always a welcome sight when returning 'home' for the evening. A very, varied self- serve breakfast sets you off for the day and host Bryan was most friendly and always helpful. I would certainly stay at Garden Inn again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    63
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
58
62
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong Station, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Awesome place...way cheaper than those expensive hotels and if you are a returning guest, the rates are usually cheaper. I always try and stay here...it close to downtown shopping and access to transit is either seconds or minutes away. The host is knowledgeable and super friendly...and the breakfast is usually healthier. And if you have a request for breakie...then they accommodate on that too! Good work, gentlemen.

Room Tip: In the summer I prefer the Trillium...and in the winter, any room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my first B&B experience, and I found it to be quite lovely. The Inn was warm and welcoming, with a historic charm. The 3rd floor room was beautiful, architecturally unique, and very cozy. Noise from other guests did not travel easily, which I appreciated. The Inn host was quiet but kind and thoughtful. The location was just east of downtown, a little off-the-beaten-path, which I enjoyed. There is only one full bathroom, which could be difficult when all of the rooms are booked, though this was not the case for us, traveling during the week. The street was lined with beautiful homes, though patches of the neighborhood were a bit "sketchy" (though not enough to deter me from walking at night). Overall, it was a lovely experience, and I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: The third floor was beautiful, spacious, and the only room on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in Toronto for our 19th anniversary, and wanted to enjoy a B&B experience. Toronto Garden Inn delivered everything we wanted. Within 10 minute walking distance of Eaton Centre and subway, and an easy drive or ride to any downtown Toronto neighbourhood. Amazing selection of self-serve breakfast items, clean and cozy rooms, incredible variety of travellers to chat with over breakfast from Russia, France, Amsterdam, and more. Bryan was a perfect host giving us our independence while always available for check-in, check-out, breakfast, and any requests. All-in-all, a great little retreat in the middle of the Big City. We'll definitely be back and likely bring our teenage son one time, too.

Room Tip: There's one bathroom on each floor. The top/third floor offers the most quiet and independence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved my stay here. Close to downtown, street car. Cozy rooms, and nice host. I stayed in the Orchid Room and really loved it.

Only negative is the first floor bathroom, which is located in the kitchen and kinda awkward to use (esp when people are having breakfast in the morning). Would stay here again when next I'm in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadiköi, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Lucky me that I experienced 2 different houses in my first visit to Toronto. First one was the sister house Downtown Home Inn which is stylish and comfortable. This place is cosy, friendly and very clean too. Both houses have same standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having grown up in a house built around the same era, it was a treat for me to stay at this charmingly serene B&B. Very convenient location, nicely furnished rooms, and uniquely hospitable Canadian staff. I stayed in the Mimosa and rested well regardless of the time of day. Shared bathrooms weren't as much of a juggle as I thought it might be, and they were very well maintained. Despite the particularly busy time of year (Canadian Thanksgiving) and for the price, it was perfect! Highly recommended, I'll certainly be keeping it in mind for my next visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toronto Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Garden Inn

Address: 142 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in downtown Toronto, on the route of 24-H public transportation. Walking distance to Yonge & Dundas Square, The Eaton Centre, Via Rail, Union Station, The Bus Terminal, The Gay Village, St. Michael Hospital, St. Lawrence Market, CN Tower, The Historical Distillery District,Cabbage Town, Elgin Theatre, Dundas Subway, U F T, Ryerson Unv, The Financial District and much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Toronto Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Garden Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.