We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAUTION! The sushi is highly addictive!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gonoe Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Gonoe Sushi Japanese Restaurant
1310 Don Mills Road, Toronto, Ontario M3B 2W6, Canada
(416) 386-0801
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
TORONTO, ONTARIO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“CAUTION! The sushi is highly addictive!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been coming to Gonoe for over 10 years now, and they just keep getting better and better!

I have gone to many sushi restaurants all across Toronto (outside of the city as well) and NOTHING compares to Gonoe!

I absolutely love the Volcano and Las Vegas rolls, but am equally smitten by the wonderful flavours of the Kalbi and Special rolls.

The servers are always friendly and we never leave disappointed!

If you love small mom and pop places, this is the mom and pop of sushi!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A good place to eat - except this is not the one!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The heading of this review is for Don Mills, but TripAdvisor's system won't accept the actual address at 262 Queens Quay W, despite me submitting the full address and post code. My receipt clearly gives the address, and this is confirmed by Noodle Maps, and the fact that I was in the Harbor Front area!! Maybe it is new, or changed hands,

I discovered this little gem of a restaurant whilst looking for somewhere for lunch as i tried to explore Toronto's uninspiring waterfront area.

Good qualty food, served cheerily at a reasonable price at 262 QUEENS QUAY W!!!

C'mon, TripAdvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“So different!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Brazillian people like me don´t know restaurants like this in own country. Some dishes from japan and some korean food. And i thing some dishes from japan with korean version an korean dishes with japanese version. Oh this fusion is very, very good. The use of pepper to make hot dishes from korea using japanese ingredients like fresh fish, soup and rice looks like a explosion!. So nice staff and very clean place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good restaurant in North York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Good value and fairly good food. Staff is extremely friendly and pleasant.

One of the better restaurants in the North York area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

went for quick bite at lunch. i had a california roll that was fresh and inexpensive. ny daughter had the seaweed salad which was outstanding and i salmon roll and tuna or hamache which she deviured must have been fabulous , she goes here often as it is close to where she works

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonoe Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Gonoe Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonoe Sushi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.