We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in a beautiful setting! A brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfingers B&B

Butterfingers B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfingers B&B
Save
You added Butterfingers B&B to your Saves list
105 Sumach Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3K1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
New York City
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a beautiful setting! A brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Caroline and Justin are supreme hosts, and their B&B is simply tops. We tend to avoid B&B's (lack of amenities, intrusive owners, too many ye-olde frou-frous, etc.), so we're really glad we listened to Tripadvisor reviewers and chose to stay in this wonderful property with such delightful people.

The beautifully renovated house has a serene elegance, with stylish upholstery, saturated paint hues, stunning lighting, and unique decorative objects creating a sleek yet inviting atmosphere. Caroline and Justin made us feel as if we were enjoying a weekend visit with really thoughtful friends: bottled water, welcome chocolates, fresh flowers, access to the kitchen, tons of fluffy towels, large closet... I could go on and on. They are the perfect combination of attentive and trusting.

The Nook was quiet and comfortable, with a great mattress (as others have noted). Our own sitting room and bath on the second floor basically gave us the entire second floor to ourselves -- an amazing amount of space compared to a hotel. And, as others mention, the bountiful breakfast is superb!

The location is very good for exploring Leslieville, Toronto's up-and-coming neighborhood to the east, where there are scores of funky shops and small restaurants. We also were able to walk to the Distillery District and the St. Lawrence Market. On the corner, less than a minute away, are Dominion on Queen, a nice neighborhood pub with decent food, and the Queen streetcar line, offering very quick access to downtown.

The hosts are so charming and kind. Without being asked, Justin went out of his way to print us a map to the Toronto Island Ferry, which was a great help, and also found out how we could store our luggage at a downtown hotel before we caught the airport bus. Bravo, Caroline and Justin!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

From the initial enquiry emails till we reluctantly said our goodbyes our experience was nothing but positive at Butterfingers. Jason and Caroline welcomed us in the their amazing home like we were family. We arrived early on the day of check in and our room was free, so they kindly let us settle in and get cleaned up for an afternoon in Toronto. They gave us maps and plenty of info on the area. Our room was amazing. Tastefully decorated, very generous in size and extremely clean with a lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom is also worth a mention, again it was large and spotless. The breakfast the following morning was exceptional, from the place settings down to the quality of the food. From cereals, fruit, juice, toast and hot options made to order, it well and truly set us up for the day.
After such a positive experience it made it very hard for us to leave Jason and Carolines beautiful home. I can't imagine you would find a better B&B in Toronto. This place will be number 1.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This place was beautiful - 2 stunning rooms in a beautifully converted Victorian house. The hosts were wonderfully friendly, the decor is fabulous, we had our own lounge area as well as a great bathroom and bedroom. The bed was extremely comfy and there were lots of lovely personal touches such as chocolates on our pillow, books beside the bed. The location was great, in walking distance from some very trendy areas of shops, cafes and restaurants and close to downtown. I would highly recommend it, and wouldn't stay anywhere else if/when we return to Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights while visiting family pre-xmas. It's a lovely restored Victorian. The bed was super-comfy and welcoming to come back to after a day of tromping in the snow. The bathroom was toasty warm on a cold winter's day and the whole place was beautifully decorated.

Half a block to the Queen streetcar, it's convenient to get into downtown and to other public transit. Justin and Caroline were completely delightful. Friendly, relaxed and happy to help with ideas about what to do and how to get there.

Breakfast is more than you can possibly eat: a huge bowl of fruit, cereal, toast if you want, and your choice of bacon (try the great canadian peameal bacon! Yum!) and eggs, french toast or pancakes. We had to tell them to feed us less! Also coffee, tea, juice, milk...really, quite a bit more than you might expect.

We'd definitely stay again and are considering inviting other family to join us there. With only the two rooms, it's quiet, intimate and calm. Oh, did we mention NO STREET NOISE at night? Perfect for a good night's sleep!

Quite a bargain for the quality and comfort compared to places near home.

  • Liked — Great bed, great location, SUPER hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carribbean
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

My husband and I found Butterfingers to be the perfect B&B to stop. Butterfingers really is a gem of a place, they are THE perfect hosts, we felt so at home whilst we stopped there. The hosts were always ready at hand to help, assist on places to visit, restaurants etc... Constantly going out of their way to accommodate us.

Breakfast was fabulous; we were also treated to these amazing pancakes!! Absolutely luscious.

We would love to return in the future some day.

  • Liked — The hosts and the rooms were beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Myself and my girlfriend planned to stay in Toronto for three nights at the end of our 10 day trip to Canada. Having researched both hotels and B&Bs on Trip Advisor we settled on Butterfingers. We were so impressed we thought we would write our first review!

Location - we arrived at Union Street station on a Wednesday afternoon. We took a taxi to the B&B. The price was settled at $15 (cad) after a bizarre exchange with a cab driver. He asked me what price I would like to pay. I was tempted to offer next to nothing but thought I would opt for $12 - a reasonable price according to our research. He then asked for $15. I suppose we were too tired after our journey to get in to the spirit of any bartering so $15 it was.

The cab ride to the B&B wasn't particularly inspiring. We travelled through a few dodgy neighbourhoods before arriving at Butterfingers which was in Corktown as opposed to Cabbagetown which we initially thought when booking.

As it turned out the location was excellent. Butterfingers is situated on Sumach Street between Shuter Street and Queen Street East. There seemed to be a lot more going on on Queen Street East than Shuter Street and that was the direction we travelled in when exploring the city.

There is a really nice bar at the corner of Sumach Street and Queen Street East - Dominion on Queen. They have a good selection of beers and the food looked nice though we never actually ate there.

We decided to try to use the public transport system as much as possible. It costs $9 for an all day pass. You can buy these from the subway station on Queen Street. The problem is that you have to take a street car (tram for UK readers) to Queen Street subway station. We explained to the street car driver that we wanted to get a day pass and he very kindly let us take the trip to the subway station where we duly bought the day passes. Taxis are reasonably priced and if you have a specific location in mind for a night out which is not accessibly by public transport then bite the bullet a get a cab.

Butterfingers - absoultely beautiful victorian house with period features, stylishly furnished, great hosts, fantastic brekkie ...... a total gem!

The best thing about the place was the very comfy bed. Nonetheless we still managed to get up at 9am every morning to get a really nice brekkie. Caroline is very welcoming and can rustle up a lovely hot snack of your choice (within limits!) in a matter of a few minutes.

Things to do - The CN tower is an essential for anyone going to Toronto. The views are amazing from the viewing lounge. There is an option to go to the very top of the CN tower (may have been called the sky pod). We didn't take this option as our guide was of the view that it wasn't worth the added cost. The queues for that option looked big and I'm not sure if it would have added much to the experience.

Yorkville is a nice area for shopping. Although the shops are ultra fancy and wasn't the sort of thing I was after. We spent our last night going to an Italian restaurant called Prego which was fantastic. That was near the ROM museum (which in itself is definitely worth seeing). After that we went to the nearby Hyatt hotel (on Caroline's recommendation). There is a small bar on the 18th floor with a patio area which has amazing views of the ROM and the city as a whole. This was a real highlight of our trip and well worth going to for a drink or two. Also the patio has got to be the best location in town to have a cigarette!

The distillery district is also worth a visit. we ate at the Mill Street Brewery on the Wednesday. The grub was great but the place was a little quiet mid week. On our last day we went to the St Lawrence market area for lunch and wished we had spent more time there as it was buzzing with lots of different restaurants and bars. We ate at C'est What? bar/restaurant which was great.

Caroline arranaged a taxi for us to the airport on way home for a flat fare of $55. The poor driver took the wrong turn off and switched off the meter at £95 so it was good value for money...think that was a one-off mistake but to be on the safe side its maybe best to allow a bit of leeway with time.

All in all we would definitely recommend Butterfingers B&B if you plan to travel Toronto. Our only regret was not allowing more time there!

  • Liked — Stylish relaxed environment
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

we stayed 3 nights, and we chose the 'Cupola' room: it's a fantastic and romantic room... caroline and justin, we agree, are perfect hosts and they really helped us in all our needs. In Toronto, this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — Friendly hosta
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfingers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfingers B&B

Address: 105 Sumach Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892 this beautiful, tastefully decorated, semi-detached, Victorian house is located on a quiet street very close to downtown Toronto. The prominent features of this boutique Bed and Breakfast include the stained glass windows, the striking ceiling moldings and an elegant working fire place, all of which are original. Wireless internet access throughout the property. Weddings and Special Occasions welcome and catered for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfingers B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.