We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Bowl Restaurant

The Fish Bowl Restaurant
942 Riverside Drive, Timmins, Ontario, Canada
(705) 267-3940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Timmins
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Have eaten here about 10 times over the last few months as I have been in the area for business. It's hit and miss here, some days the food is good, others,nits has been downright awful. I have fish and chips (their specialty) and it was not good, fish was soggy!

One of the better places in Timmins, needs more consistency, is quite expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great concept poor execution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

i love seafood. i love all food really. this place was ok the battered fish and chips was overly battered.. cant compete with a nice british hole in the wall fish n chips shack. seafood pasta was well shrug. the lobster used was a canned lobster i can tell and its sad(spongey watery flavorless). it disappoints me the lack for passion in food and really it isn't complex. fresh ingredients. but alas its not for everyone and i completely understand.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Laurier, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique landmark, local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was our first time in Timmins and while the town has more than its share of chain restaurants we were looking for something a little more unique. We drove by the Fish Bowl and decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. It looks like the restaurant is somehow of a landmark, given the unique circular architecture. Once at our table we noticed the place had been around since 1976, and looking around we could see this is a local favorite, too. The emphasis is on seafood but anyone can find something to fit their taste, even vegetarians. We started with a luscious artichoke dip with homemade tortilla chips and we couldn't stop until there wasn't a bite left. My husband had a rib/lobstertail combo(original!) and I had the lobster liguini. There was lobster in every bite and I can honestly say that was the best pasta dish I had in a restaurant in a long time. Our waitress was super friendly. We really loved dining here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Food - Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Principally a seafood restaurant bt offers red meat dishes for those seeking an alternative. Good service and friendly service team.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The fish bowl has fantastic fish and service.The prices are reasonable.The atmosphere is real good.The fish is delicous and very easy to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Bowl Restaurant also viewed

Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Fish Bowl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Bowl Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.