We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins to your Saves list
Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Mountjoy Street South, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Timmins
Toronto
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Business stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

King room is decent; comfortable bed; basic amenities for business travellers. Staff is friendly. Wifi is spotty; and there's no business centre available. Hallways and parking area are points for improvement - too dim.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, very much appreciated. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    25
    33
    24
See reviews for
24
19
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would add that the place would film a great 1970's horror movie. Very dark and drab. Rooms are "remodelled" meaning they added a small flat screen and a new matress. Free breakfast was one of the worst I have had and the bfast room was flat out haunted. Fitness center was a joke. They have a sports bar in the lobby that is A+ but you could walk to it from any other downtown hotel and save yourself hte scary elevator ride to your room.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn it is brand new I am told
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr Marcone,
I was sorry to read that you found our hotel "out of a 1970's horror movie". We have spent a great amount of money to remodel and improve our surroundings and have received very positive feedback on our improvements. But as the saying goes " to each his own" .
Thank you and have a great week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in the Shania Twain Suite and the Luxury King Room of this hotel. The rooms are much nicer than I expected for a Days Inn. The bed is comfortable with a nice duvet. The washroom is basic. The room was clean, cozy and well suited to our needs. We quite enjoyed the dinner at the Gallery Restaurant on the second floor. We also attended a catered meal/dance reception in the banquet hall which was enjoyable. The front desk staff are helpful. The only issues we had were a fire alarm at 4am in the middle of the night. Brrr. Timmins winter is brutally cold to face in pajamas. And the floors can be quite overrun with noisy kids during hockey tournament season. The Iocation of the hotel is ideal. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites have been upgraded. A much nicer alternative than the regular rooms (which are typical D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for you kind review. We are constantly trying to improve our surroundings. I do however apologize for the fire alarm at 4am. It is a necessary evil for your safety. Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It started off with the wrong room. so i had to change rooms right away. they were upgrading the tv service so every channel was fuzzy. Then when i checked out My room was more expencive then the other person i was working withs room. We had the same room and i book them both. They would not change it at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I will address this issue with our front desk staff. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked a suite from April 18 to May. On the 19 April the roof leaked water onto the heater that was running, which was beside the desk I was seated at. I was offered another room and that room had a leaking window. I asked for time to decide whether or not I would stay, the manager hurried me to decide, even though the maintenance staff member told me there was nothing he could do. I asked for compensation and was not offered any except a room up grade to a cold room with a tv that was not working.
The TVs were not working and even though its a modern hotel it does not have printer access for guests.

I took my $130 a night for 14 nights and went else where.

I dealt with Terri on check in and she was excellent to deal with. The managers hands were tied by policy and she was not able to offer me any real compensation.

With my line of work, I stay in many hotels, and have influence on where my co workers stay. If this is not addressed properly I am sure I will not recommend this hotel to anyone and be sure to take the time to share my story in online reviews.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Justin,
I just received your review on Trip Advisor and have spoken to the Front Desk Manager and our maintenace supervisor.
I sincerely apologize for the leaky window and bad television reception. We are in the process
of upgrading our cable system with optic cabling, unfortunately it does take time to install.
Mike and Laurie did offer to upgrade you to the Shania Twain suite where both televisions had great reception.
You asked for Wyndham Points for compensation but we cannot transfer points to your card.
I am very sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us and can only hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Timmins, please call me. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Agree with previous reviewers - they are trying to update the hotel cosmetically, but when you have a tired, dated structure to start with it's like - my title suggests - putting lipstick on a pig... it's still just a pig.

Room was very nicely redecorated, with a new comfy bed... however... the heating unit is the same old, tired, noisy, circa 1970's unit... the tub is the same old metal tub with ghosts of anti-slip strips past... the receptacle in the bathroom is so old that my hair dryer plug kept falling out while I was drying my hair... when I turned on the hot water, it ran brown for the first few minutes... the water ran hot and cold while taking my shower... there is a brand-new flat screen TV in the room, but the picture was fuzzy on every channel - even though it was cable.

I would have rated this hotel average instead of poor, as the room was clean and I did have a good sleep both nights... but my colleague actually had mice in his room! He was watching TV and a mouse ran across the floor... and then another ran out from under the bed! Yikes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B, General Manager at Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Please accept my most sincerely apologies for what you saw in your room. I assure you I will address this problem immediately. It is an older building but we do try to improve our surroundings to ensure our guests are comfortable and receive great service. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins

Address: 14 Mountjoy Street South, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at our Days Inn and Conference - Timmins hotel for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Days Inn Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Timmins
Timmins Days Inn
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn and Conference Centre Timmins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.