We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadhouse or Missing Horse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Beach Roadhouse - CLOSED

Crystal Beach Roadhouse
RR 13 STN P, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7C 5M9, Canada
(807) 983-3004
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Roadhouse or Missing Horse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Outside of Thunder Bay on Highway 17. We drove the Lake Superior Circle Tour in June 2013. After days of camping and eating peanut butter sandwiches, nuts, granola, apples and bananas we needed good old fashioned comfort food. This restaurant did not disappoint. Because of the sign out front we assumed the name of the restaurant was "The Missing Horse". By any name, the food and service were good and restaurant was clean and people friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! I stopped here with 2 other people on our way to camp. We just got a take out but wow this place was spectacular!! The service was sooooo good. They were very friendly which was great. The atmosphere was also great . The food was sooo good, it was a great size, I couldn't even finish it, it was really good, the Canadian Burger was really great!! If you have the chance I would for sure stop here. It's excellent!! :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Deb and Bruce are awesome. You will not find friendlier service anywhere. The restaurant is small but you're made to feel like one of the family. They have a great selection and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local & Big Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Consistently excellent, but sometimes hard to know when they're open. Offer takeout, too. Friendliest staff in the world. Willingly substitute and customize individual orders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Probably the most original food in the greater Thunder Bay area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite operating as the Crystal Beach Roadhouse for over 20 years, the sign still shows "the Missing Horse Restaurant", it is located about 20 kms East of Thunder Bay on Highway 17, and will become a little harder for travellers to find because the new highway is near completion and will by pass this stretch of road. But it's well worth making the effort to visit. I have eaten here often. For having a tiny kitchen and a small 36 seat restaurant they offer an amazing variety of the most original food in the greater Thunder Bay area. Often a dozen or more daily specials to choose from that are hand written onto a white board. The food has generous portions.
Bruce and Debbie Hindle are friendly. The service is good and the food is very well presented and seasoned to perfection. While the restaurant is licensed, few people seem to drink here. There is plenty of parking available. Only negative, the building is older and the washrooms somewhat dated.
I recommend trying "the Decadent" Breakfast. Solid 4.5*

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Beach Roadhouse also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Beach Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.