We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribou Restaurant + Wine Bar

Caribou Restaurant + Wine Bar
727 Hewitson St, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6B5, Canada
807-628-8588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 246 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a maple salmon and a steak. Both was made to perfection. The service from out waiter was beyond excellent. A little weird location, the direction we came from... but dont worry about that. Inside is classy, waiters are classy - but you dont have to be too dressed. Old gym pants might not fit in though.
Would for sure go back if I visited Thunder Bay again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pricey but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend. The place was a little loud, but the atmosphere makes up for it. Great selection of wine, and half off bottles of wine on SUNDAY!!! That was sweet - the bread & hummus is excellent in itself. Our entrees were great, and the Bananas foster was to DIE for. We spent more than a c-note but it was a nice night out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Birthday Bliss; thanks Craig!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

World was ROCKED at the Caribou on May 3rd. Thanks so much to Craig Vieira and staff for just a sensational birthday dinner: Lamb & Feta meatballs, crab cakes, caesar and ovation salad, texas bbq ribs and blackened striploin, with deserts of Creme Frambois and Mocha something or other with a coffee bean on top. Do you have any idea how hard it is for seven out of those eight all to score 9 or slightly better out of ten? Want quality? Go to the Caribou! Oh, and they have that new Sleeping Giant amber/dark beer which really complimented the meal, as well as this cab/zin/shiraz combo called Coppala that I'll looking for in the LCBO.
Not even half the top 20 on Trip Advisor Thunder Bay Restaurants are deserving, but the Caribou sure is....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Thunder Bay for fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You are in for a treat eating at the Caribou! The staff are friendly & know the menu well. They give great recommendations. There is something for everyone- we had a table of 4 with very different tastes. We were all thrilled with our choices.
Make sure you save room the the Raspberry creme Brulee. It is worth a trip across town just to have this dessert.
I found the prices reasonable (better than in Vancouver & Toronto).
An added bonus: they incorporate local foods into the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Totally impressed. The service was excellent and the food was sooo good. My 12 year old grandson is a foody and said the crab cakes were the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribou Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Caribou Restaurant + Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribou Restaurant + Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.