We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Thunder Bay North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Thunder Bay North to your Saves list
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Golf Links Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B-0A1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billings, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had a great stay here after a very long drive. Employees were friendly and happy. Room was great and bed was great. Breakfast was the usual, but very good and well attended. I thought it was a little pricey, but I did not compare with others. I went by the rating and I was glad I did this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    190
    46
    5
    2
See reviews for
147
93
47
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn on our circle the lake trip recently. Everything about it was completely acceptable but nothing really special. It's basically what you'd expect at a Days Inn. We chose it for the price which was fair for what it was. Odd enough, we had the same problem with the GPS that another reviewer did. Not a big deal, but kind of weird.

The room and hotel were clean but nothing special. It was what you'd expect of a typical value hotel. The bed and room were comfortable and clean, but you could tell they were never particularly top of the line and they were getting a bit worn around the edges. It's a little farther out towards the edges of town, not really in a deserted area but not really in the downtown either. I didn't see anywhere I felt we could walk to, but it was an easy drive down to the lake and downtown attractions.

The one thing that did stand out for us was the women at the front desk. I hope them to be particularly helpful, even when we arrived later in the evening. The woman who helped us check out in the morning was great, with lots of helpful tips for our trip which went above and beyond anything to do with our stay at the hotel.

All in all it was fine. I can't really complain about anything but there's nothing special about it either. It's a decent budget hotel but there's nothing to make it stand out as exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently I stayed at the Days Inn on Golf Links and I was, to say the least, severely disappointed by the way I was treated as a guest. Check in was by no means smooth. In fact, after waiting a solid 10 minutes to even be acknowledged (there was only one front desk attendant on duty) I was then questioned as to the reason of my stay. This was followed by the THREAT of “We don’t allow parties, if we find out you are having a party you will be kicked out”. If I was 19 years old again maybe I would understand but being that that was a decade ago and renting a hotel room with my partner by my side I found this EXTREMELY offensive.

This tainted the remainder of the stay. The room was an eye sore without a view. There was a dated tube television and the complimentary amenities were slim for a room that would be classified as a “suite”. When I approached the front desk for a mending kit I received a good roll-of-the-eyes, as if I was a nuisance. A guest is not an interruption of work, they are the purpose of it. I do not feel that by renting a hotel room I should have to explain to anyone what I will be doing in it. Especially given the fact that I was paying a premium rate of $170 for a king suite. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone, unless they are prepared to have their privacy invaded and explain to the front desk staff exactly what they plan on doing in their rightfully paid for room. A big disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was refreshing to be greeted by very pleasant and helpful ladies at the front desk. Lately I have been really put off by front desk people who don't get the part about hospitality and behave like you are putting them off by asking for your room. Check in was not only a breeze but a pleasure after a 10 hour day of driving. The beds were very comfy, the hotel is really clean and the breakfast was alright...nothing special but enough to get you started.
Would we stay here again...no. Will we recommend it to others...no. Here's why. The air conditioner is soooo loud and ineffective. The unit would kick in for 30 seconds blowing cold air, then quit and the room would become stiffling before it would roar into action again. It bothered us the first stay...but it was even worse on our second stay on our way back from the west. We had a room on the second floor on our return trip and we could clearly hear the people staying above us walking back and forth and when they flushed, it sounded like our whole ceiling was going to cave in with a flood of water. On the second stay I could even hear other air conditioners reving up. As much as we would love to recommend this place I just can't. A good nights sleep is so important when you have a really long drive ahead of you the next day. If they can fix the air problem then we would consider staying again but it was sooo frustrating.
The restaurant, 5 Forks was very good too. Really nice people...but....

Room Tip: Go for a top floor so you don't hear the people above you and their plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have chosen this hotel on our way from Toronto to Winnipeg. First problem was that my TomTom GPS was not able to locate the hotel. It brought us to the nearest transaction but we had to look for the rest, but wasn't that difficult. We were received with smiling faces, an extra bed was offered and breakfast was included. Rooms were not brand new, but clean ans quite. Breakfast is nothing close to an international breakfast buffet, but the fresh waffles made it up! Good for a night, but not as a holiday destination.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have been to Thunder Bay a couple of times now and the last time I stayed was at another hotel that was outdated and smelled like A535. I vowed never to stay there again. This time I chose to stay at the days in based on some of the reviews that I read on Trip Advisor. Well I must say I really appreciate the comments that I read and the Days Inn has been a pleasure to stay at. I came here early and that made everyeffort to find me a cleaned room and get me settled in. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast and hot coffee are a bonus. Thanks to the staff at the Day Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thunder Bay was a stop on our Harley trip around Lake Superior. We picked this property as it was convenient, sitting just off Hy 17, and also near downtown (although not quite walkable), and restaurants (walkable), but it turned out to be a somewhat unexpected gem. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, modern, light, quiet and, above all, meticulously clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom had an extra mirror and "make up area" outside the lage toilet/shower area which was convenient for my wife. The motel had a very nice work out room and a clean and bright guest laundry area that worked out perfectly for us too. The continental breakfast, although pretty much "standard" for these chain hotels, had everything that you would expect, was clean and nice, was served in a large area with room to manuver (also a nice little outdoor dining area when the weather is nice), and was well stocked and attended. (TV in the breakfast area too if that is important to you.) The motel is also immediately adjacent to an excellent restaurant/lounge called Five Forks, and within easy walking distance of other restaurants, ranging from fast food, to casual sit down, to "higher end" like Five Forks. This Days Inn, in our opinion, gets "two thumbs up".

Room Tip: We had a King room, but my guess is that they are all comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Thunder Bay North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Thunder Bay North

Address: 1250 Golf Links Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B-0A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Thunder Bay North 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Days Inn Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Thunder Bay North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Thunder Bay North Hotel Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Days Inn
Days Inn Thunder Bay North Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Thunder Bay North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.